Fordmods Logo

enough flow for a bigger cam? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: enough flow for a bigger cam?
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:19 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 100

Joined: 22nd May 2009

Ride: 96 coon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

i have the standard impco elbow set up on my ef and no doubt it restricts the airflow.

ideally this should be upgraded with a gas research throttle body and assoc equipment but don't see the point of throwing up to a grand to do this since the car is just a fun daily which will never see the track or strip.

so having seen the improvement of a cam in my mate's car, is there any point putting one in mine keeping in mind that airflow is substandard?

are there gains to be made and the thing is that the gains just won't be maximised because of the impco elbow on the intake - nevertheless it will still go harder?

or a waste of time seeing how the impco elbow can't flow the required air.

the cam i was thinking about is the CMS stage 2

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: enough flow for a bigger cam?
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:27 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 100

Joined: 22nd May 2009

Ride: 96 coon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

forgot to say..

upgrading to a bigger mixer will help?

or would it have the same air flow (elbow) with just a bigger mixer?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: enough flow for a bigger cam?
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:09 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 119

Joined: 11th Oct 2008

Ride: falcon au ute

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

You should do ok with the standard elbow... It's just a cheap and easy mod that will get you a little power
that's why so many people do it, the more yor car breathes (more power) obviously the more it will restrict
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: enough flow for a bigger cam?
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:54 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 100

Joined: 22nd May 2009

Ride: 96 coon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

so pretty much i would be making more power than ts current form but that power would not be maximised because of the air flow restriction?

thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: enough flow for a bigger cam?
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:55 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 100

Joined: 22nd May 2009

Ride: 96 coon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

and cheap and easy mod? aha those GRA kits are bloody expensive
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: enough flow for a bigger cam?
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:00 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 119

Joined: 11th Oct 2008

Ride: falcon au ute

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

Sorry I was just generalising about air intake in general,
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:05 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names