Fordmods Logo

Fitting Wade Stage II 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Fitting Wade Stage II
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 2:26 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Put a Wade 1004 into my EL Ghia yesterday. Was quite an interesting day and I thought I should post to say thanks to the guys that gave me a hand. Especially arm79 who provided the use of his garage and some extremely helpful advice. Thanks heaps bro!

After snapping a rocker arm and sheering a bolt, we eventually got everything re-assembled. Also put some new plugs, leads, dizzy cap and rotor button in whilst we were at it. When we started her up, she was running rough as guts. After a couple of hours trouble shooting and a few rough drives, it would at least idle in gear without stalling.

To those who saw how it was running, after the drive home last night, she was idling like it had a REALLY lumpy cam in, but from 2000rpm up it was sweet. Just a bit flat and lacking up to 2000. Started this morning with no hassles so I'm hoping that the ECU just has to sort itself out...

Thanks again for everyone's help and I'll use this thread to keep y'all updated on how it turns out

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 2:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

good stuff! just on the idle... i've got a stg 2 crow cam - its a bastard as well with idle :? my basi idle currently needs to be around the 850rpm in D to idle w/out stalling - although i have had better results with a tickford ECU in the car - allows it to idle ~700rpm - much healthier! :) just have a play, but i wouldn't be expecting too much with the stock ECU :(

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 156

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

i put my wade 1604 (stage 2) in um... thursday last week, within a day or two the idle was silky!
I.e. if i didnt tell you i have a cam you would not know! 8-)

i did hear good things about the idle, but i thought it would be "ok", i would lie if i said it was anything less than 90-95% as good as without the cam. :P

still havent given her a good caining yet... being nice for a couple of days. Which i think will end tonight!

 

_________________

Regency Red EL Fairmont - PH4480 - 2.5" exhaust - High flow cat/muffler - K&N panel filter - Mandrel bent air intake - T series intake - wade 1604 cam - 98 EL XR6 ECU - Whiteline lows - 17" ROH RT's - Koni yellows - DBA Slotted's - Green Stuff pads
NEED: LSD, chiptorque

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

uglybob wrote:
good stuff! just on the idle... i've got a stg 2 crow cam - its a bastard as well with idle :? my basi idle currently needs to be around the 850rpm in D to idle w/out stalling - although i have had better results with a tickford ECU in the car - allows it to idle ~700rpm - much healthier! :) just have a play, but i wouldn't be expecting too much with the stock ECU :(


The Ghias have got tickford six with the tickford ECU, that's why I had thought it would behave much better right off the bat

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:29 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

fairmontman wrote:
uglybob wrote:
good stuff! just on the idle... i've got a stg 2 crow cam - its a bastard as well with idle :? my basi idle currently needs to be around the 850rpm in D to idle w/out stalling - although i have had better results with a tickford ECU in the car - allows it to idle ~700rpm - much healthier! :) just have a play, but i wouldn't be expecting too much with the stock ECU :(


The Ghias have got tickford six with the tickford ECU, that's why I had thought it would behave much better right off the bat


ahhh true! well, the ECU will take a while to learn - what have you set the base idle to?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:41 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

got it idling at about 800 at the moment. bit rough though...

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 651

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: falcon V8

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: clayton
VIC, Australia

it takes time mine still sometimes will crack it and idle like crap but most of the time idles fine, I've also got a xr6 ecu.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:20 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Good to know you got home OK and the beast is still running well.

Hopefully the idle sorts it self out over the next few days and it goes all good.

Does it give you any memories of the XW? :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:29 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah, it did bring back some memories of my days clowning around with the XW.

I was thinking about it on the way home. The XW had quite a lumpy cam and didn't idle all that much more smoothly, only it sounded a hell of a lot better with a twin 2.25" straight through system....

Yeah, I'll give it a few days and hopefully it will steadily improve to something much more pleasant.

What about taking the battery off for a while so that the ECU clears and learns the new cam from scratch instead of trying to adjust from what my old cam was?

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 651

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: falcon V8

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: clayton
VIC, Australia

yeah that would help when i first had the cam in it would not idle at all (standered ecu) so i rest it and it did take a while but it did idle quite well,
then arm79 and steve (thank you) installed the xr6 one idles a lot smoother but still sometime it gets lumpy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:39 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'll give it a go this evening then

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Dang, sounds like you had even more trouble than me!

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah there were a few frustrating setbacks along the way, but we got there in the end. My back's a bit sore from leaning over the engin bay all day with a torque wrench in my hand....

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 12:36 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

who well do the cars go with stage 2 cams? liek how much diff did u notice?
im tryin to work out which one im goin for..

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:38 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 362

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Quick update:

After resetting the ECU on Monday night, the car improved dramatically. Everything ran beautifully from 2000 up and just a little rough at the bottom revs. Very noticable extra pull from 3000 - 5000rpm. Shift changes were a bit screwy coz of reset ecu.

Last night, it was idling much better, but still a bit rougher than I would have liked. Decided to change back from leads and plugs used during trouble shooting to the new splitfire ones. Things improved even more when I did. Now the idle is a fraction lumpier than stock (as it should be with a new cam) with a little bit of idle hunting that should diminish as the tickford ECU figures out what's going on

Very pleased.

Thanks again to all those who helped, especially arm79.

 

_________________

Two hands and one mouth. Now that's a drinnking problem!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names