Fordmods Logo

Head Gasket/Timing related problem 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Head Gasket/Timing related problem
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Hey Ive just finish doing a head gasket change. Went to start it and it doesn't want to fire. There is spark, and the engine turns. NRMA guy came out and check the compression. Only 50psi. I did remove the timing cover so i can replace the timing guides when replacing the head gasket.
I notice after a full rotation of the timing chain by hand, the timing marks where out. But i didnt pay much attention. I remember that on the chain that the two yellow links where on the right hand side. The top of the head was aligned in the middle of the two yellow links on the chain. As i rotated the engine, TDC mark and the two yellow links went lined up as before i rotated it.
Im pretty sure it is the timing which is out.
What is the best way to redo the timing with the marks all lined up?
By the way, i got an el i6.
Cheers Adam

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Bump any one. I'm going to fix it tomorrow. So any advice would be good.

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Engine tdc on compression stroke...
The cam gear should line up with top of block..
The dissy drive should be on #1 plug location too if required...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:55 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 134

Joined: 26th Apr 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The mark on the timing sproket is actually meant to be about 3mm above the top of the head when on TDC. It is close to being in line with the top of the head, but not quite when you bend down and take a good look.

 

_________________

95 EF Wagon, Dedicated Gas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

actually anywhere between 3 mm and level is fine.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:21 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

So if it is out of wack, what so i do to fix it?

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

rip the timeing cover off and line it all up again

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:44 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

naughtyfalcon wrote:
rip the timeing cover off and line it all up again


Im not ripping it off again. Any other way? Can i just move the cam a little?

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

you could but are the marks on the crank and the other wheel lined up?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

nup. I was just thinking of re positioning the cam so i dont need to redo the chain.
The only way to put the chain marks back in position is to take the timing cover out. If i put the piston TDC and make sure the cam is straight ( none of the valve is open) and the dizzy is firing on number one. that should work. Hopefully.

Can anyone agree with me with this solution?

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 197

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: FG-XR6 EL EA '24 Dodge

Location: Tamworth
NSW, Australia

If you have the crank lined up at TDC and on firing stroke (with rotor pointing to No.1) and chain tensioner off. Mark the chain for reference.
Then you will have to unbolt the timing gear from the cam and move it to some other tooth location on the chain, such that when the gear is bolted back to the cam and the cam suitably rotated, the mark will line up with the head. Disregarding any marks on the chain other than the ones you put there.

 

_________________

As Sigfried once said "Nein Nein Ninty Nine"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 5:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Ive got compression in cyc. 1,5,6 (very good). cyc 2 has no compression, cyc 3 has about 60 psi and i cant remember number 4 ( think around 140psi)

What could be causing this problem?

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:17 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Ok ive found the problem why i wasnt getting compression in the other cylinders because the tappets (not sure if thats what there called) in the rocker where stuck open and where holding the valves open.

I bought a second hand rockers. the compression is between 200-210psi. Is that too much compression?

When i start the car, it doesnt want to run at idle. But if i accelerate the engine around 1000rpm, it runs fine.
Also i broke a sensor which is near the coil. It plugs into the block. What sensor is that and will the stop the car from idling?
Im going to check the timing and hopfully that will
help the idle.


The car is a el running on gas. The battery has be taken out so the ecu needs to learn everything again.
So im not sure if the ecu is causing the car not to idle or just timing. If someone can advise me on what to do. Also answer the questions above will help me.
Cheers Adam.

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sensor sounds like Oil pressure sensor i think....

also have you checked your timing with a timing light ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

MMD wrote:
sensor sounds like Oil pressure sensor i think....

also have you checked your timing with a timing light ?


Not yet. Going to do that tomorrow.

Thats what i was thinking, oil sensor.

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: johny23 and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names