Fordmods Logo

headgasket tips.. sigh 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 39 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i actually tightened my thermostat to specified torque and it was leaking water so I just over ightened it till it stopped leaking. :)

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:57 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

jeez... don't use sealer... use sealer... whos right? lol

use loctite.. use oil...

sealant on the timing cover?? why would I need to do that.. why would I have to remove the timing cover?

auto trans lines?? why would i need to take them off?

confusing.

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

JT wrote:
sealant on the timing cover?? why would I need to do that.. why would I have to remove the timing cover?


Because the front of the head sits on the timing cover. There is a rubber gasket you put between the head and the cover, but it almost always leaks. You use sealer there - NOT on the head gasket.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
JT wrote:
sealant on the timing cover?? why would I need to do that.. why would I have to remove the timing cover?


Because the front of the head sits on the timing cover. There is a rubber gasket you put between the head and the cover, but it almost always leaks. You use sealer there - NOT on the head gasket.


I'll second that... only leaks at the front and the back though.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

ok, this is how to do it:

no sealer on headgaaket, they come with a sealant already applied

turf the timing cover gasket (sits on top between head and top of cover) use high temp silicon instead

use only engine oil on the bolts, otherwise they will not come out next time,

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

JT wrote:

auto trans lines?? why would i need to take them off?

confusing.


to remove the radiator.

makes it easier to access the steering pump to remove the belt and also more importantly the harmonic balancer.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
JT wrote:

auto trans lines?? why would i need to take them off?

confusing.


to remove the radiator.

makes it easier to access the steering pump to remove the belt and also more importantly the harmonic balancer.


and you would remove the harmonic balancer because.....?

there is no need to remove the auto lines or radiator.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i mean to rotate it for TDC

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:54 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

would you guys shave the head 20tho AND use the AU headgakset?

i've heard using the AU gasket is like shaving 40tho off your head..

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Shaving it makes bugger all difference.. I mean it probably will, but you won't notice it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:23 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

holy s**t.. I've pulled the intake mani to the side.. removed exahust.. p/steer, drained rad.. removed rocker cover, cabled tided the chain to the sproket.

then proceded to break every fu*in 14" socket I owned, + 3 of my mates.. 6 in total trying to loosed the head bolts. oh and bent one ring spanner.

has anyone else had this problem? those head bolts are crazy tight!!!
I hoped to have it off tonight as it's booked in for a crack test on sunday :x

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Get a 14mm impact socket - will do the job no problems

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:55 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 336

Joined: 2nd Sep 2005

Location: Normzville
WA, Australia

JOSE wrote:
ok, this is how to do it:

no sealer on headgaaket, they come with a sealant already applied

turf the timing cover gasket (sits on top between head and top of cover) use high temp silicon instead

use only engine oil on the bolts, otherwise they will not come out next time,



what he said

 

_________________

<a href="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au">
<img border="0" src="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au/updated.gif" width="189" height="45"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:23 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

well.. I stole my old mans 3grand Stahlwillie socketset, it didn't break the 14 but it just started to round off the head bolt!!!!! :-(

now what?

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 197

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: FG-XR6 EL EA '24 Dodge

Location: Tamworth
NSW, Australia

Are they 6 point or 12 point sockets?

 

_________________

As Sigfried once said "Nein Nein Ninty Nine"

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names