Fordmods Logo

help ! ea running like s**t 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: help ! ea running like s**t
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 2:41 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 15th Feb 2006

Ride: what else...?

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

hi all,
some advice on a 3.9L EA would be greatly appreciated
my brother recently replaceda head gasket to cure a water leak
got a bit carried away, had the head machined 1mm and fitted a mild cam at the same time (had to come off anyway, so why not...).
I am not sure what specs the reground cam is, but he said something about AU grind...?
Anyway...it starts, idles, runs worse than before (across the rev range), on both petrol (ULP) and LPG, backfires sometimes. Tappets noisy too.
He fitted the cam in same position on chain sprocket.
1) The head machnist suggested retarding the cam timing by 1 tooth to compensate for 1mm taken off the head. Does that make sense ?
2) With 1mm shaved off, is running ULP OK ? Gas should be better ?
3) Is AU the same firing order as EA ?
4) Does the fuel injection / gas converter need anything done to it ?
5) How critical are cam shims ?

So many questions...so little knowledge. Thanks in adv. for any help...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

1 not sure

2 should be fine

3 yes, they all are 1 5 3 6 2 4

4 nope

5 very, if theres to much gap it'll rattle it's tits off needing more expensive work to be done

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: thanks naughty
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:10 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 15th Feb 2006

Ride: what else...?

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

what about engine management, does it need resetting or something ?
any other ideas ...?
thanks again
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:34 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 376

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

it doesnt seem as though you have touched the tuning at all, yeah it might have an ECU but either that would have to be reprogrammed or stuff around with the engine timing, what advance do you have?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ea running like s**t
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 12:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 15th Feb 2006

Ride: what else...?

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

not sure...it's my brother's car, but I assume it's whatever it's supposed to be.
what should it be ?
thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 12:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

what cam was fitted, if it was a regrind you will have to have an extra set of shims in it or its gonna run like a dog
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:23 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 15th Feb 2006

Ride: what else...?

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

thanx Rapier,
not sure (it's not my motor) but it was a regrind and a mild one. Anyway, the shims would probably be a good starting point...
Do they come in different thicknesses ? How do you work out what's required ?
thanks again
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

most around here have used the 1.9mm ones from memory,,

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

If you can find what type of cam it was, it will help AU cams don't fit *straight* into e-series cars Maybe check the lifter clearences? ... but if your lifters are not shimmed corrertly your vavles will not be opening/closing enough hence running bad ...


there is a doco on my site under that cams section that shows you how to measure up for the correct size shims.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 2:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 15th Feb 2006

Ride: what else...?

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

thanks guys,
I'll try to find the doco on shims and take it from there...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:43 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 118

Joined: 18th Feb 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I hate EA's, good luck sorting it all out though...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:43 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 118

Joined: 18th Feb 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I hate EA's, good luck sorting it all out though...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names