Fordmods Logo

HELP ME!!!!! Car wont start 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: HELP ME!!!!! Car wont start
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

i have an ED XR6 the battery went flat and i charged it but it was rooted so i got a new 1 and now the car wont start the starter motor turns to crank the engine but it doesnt kick over and the smart lock is not flashing at all anymore, does any 1 know wat the hell is going on? i dont think the car is imobilised but the smartlock keypad wont even lock the car or open the boot but if the car was imobilised thar starter motor wouldnt work at all right? could it be a ignition coil?

any help wud be great

Daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:38 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Check your fuses. I had exact same problem, only checked fuse because the interior light would not come on when i opened doors. Changed that fuse and smartlock was back and engine fired up straight away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:49 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Forgot to add that my starter motor would also try to start engine but it wouldn't completely kick over.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

ok then mate thanks for that! which fuse is it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

it's the CRT LP or somethinglike that fuse. it's a 10A fuse in the EF's.

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Yeah what mr sperm said. I'ts the same on the ed
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

ok then thanks boys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

On the wifes EF I've blown 10amp fuse while trying to install a cd player. just couldn't start the f**k until I checked all the fuses & relays.

Did the ED came with smartlock?

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

EB2 onwards on smartlock

:-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

glenneaux wrote:
EB2 onwards on smartlock

:-)
well then, it might be a smartlock issue then.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 3:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Slick wrote:
On the wifes EF I've blown 10amp fuse while trying to install a cd player. just couldn't start the f**k until I checked all the fuses & relays.

Did the ED came with smartlock?


How did you get around that out of curiosity? I've been doing the same thing to my EF and I've given up n installing the radio temporarily.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 3:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Blow a fuse? let the power wire touch earth :evil:

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 3:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

unclewoja wrote:
Slick wrote:
On the wifes EF I've blown 10amp fuse while trying to install a cd player. just couldn't start the f**k until I checked all the fuses & relays.

Did the ED came with smartlock?


How did you get around that out of curiosity? I've been doing the same thing to my EF and I've given up n installing the radio temporarily.

Got lazy so couldn't be bother disconnecting the battery!
The factory/casette player went back in after all attempt was exhausted. didn't have any diagram to go by & ended up blowning the fuse. car won't start after the CD player went in. removed it & install the factory unit back in. car still wouldn't start so started to check all the fuses.
darm, should of checked the fuses before removing the CD unit. sorry dude.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 4:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 11th Nov 2005

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

You may have lost your smart lock settings.

I had this happen to me when a battery died overnight. I had to reprogram the remotes to the smartlock before the car would start.
Your owners manual will tell you how to do this, you will need to do all your remotes at the same time if you have more than one.
If I remember correctly there is an emergency procedure for starting the car if the remotes fail, again check with your owners manual.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 874

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Ride: EL Monty

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Happened to me recently. Blew the fuse for the interior lights which then would not let me start the car. forget exactly which one it is but if its blown theres no way you'll start the car
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names