Fordmods Logo

Hone out bores and fit new rings?? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: Hone out bores and fit new rings??
Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 1 images

QLD, Australia

I'm looking at doing a quick/easy freshen up on my engine - I'm an Aircraft mechanic so do know the basics and am reasonably competent at swinging spanners - the specific things I'm looking at doing are:
1. Fit new high volume oil pump
2. Do the chain guides (motor mechs rooted something when I had the timing gear all done about 2 years ago - now something's busted ie. part of one of the guides - shoulda f**k done it myself!!!).
3. Chuck new rings in - possibly pistons too (fan belt broke about 3 years ago and the engine got Veeeery hot - still runs fine and makes great power but at least no 3 cylinder is burning oil - ie. rings have lost tension and/or bore glazed).

The first is straight forward tho I may raise another topic to try and find out where to source one - have yet to call repco or Coventrys tho.

The third is a concern as I'm worried that the bores in my 300 000 km engine may be too out of round and new rings will actually bugger it (won't bed in at all) - does anyone know whether the bores in these I6's go particularly badly oval??

Sold the Greenmachine - now driving 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:21 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: Falcon

SA, Australia

1. Should have no problems getting a new oil pump (any auto store will have it or be able to get one in).
2. Just need a timing chain kit ($80-$120 depending where you go). Will include gaskets, seals, chain, sprockets and guides.
3. 300,000 might be a bit much for a hone and re-ring. Just measure it up though. The limits are 0.127mm for out of round and 0.254mm for taper, anything close to that and id get a bore and hone. Should be able to get bore, hone, and new pistons and rings for ~$400.

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas