Fordmods Logo

how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el
Posted: Thu May 06, 2010 6:58 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 35

Joined: 6th Sep 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

i really need to know how do i de gas the AC in a EL Fairmont. their seem to be 2 release valves and on the caps one has a "H" and the other has a "L". can any one please help?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el
Posted: Thu May 06, 2010 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

That my friend needs to be done by an AC mechanic, The gas is not supposed to vent to atmosphere. It is illeagal and a very big fine if you get caught.

Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el
Posted: Thu May 06, 2010 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

The L and the H are the test ports on the high and low pressure side of the system.
As Brett said it should be removed at an authorised filling station. Most auto electricians can do it for you.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el
Posted: Thu May 06, 2010 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

DO NOT OPEN THE PIPES AND LET THE GAS VENT INTO THE ATMOSPHERE! I cannot stress that enough. It's ozone depleting and illegal. $250,000 fine!

Get it evacuated professionally. Change the compressor yourself and then get it regassed professionally

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 5:15 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 35

Joined: 6th Sep 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

i really just have a problem with the A/C pulley the barrings are gone can't i just replace the pulley?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: how do you change the Air conditioner compresser in a el
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

On the compressor? Short answer = no.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:51 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names