Fordmods Logo

I think my Map sensor is F**KED 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: I think my Map sensor is F**KED
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

I have a EB2
EL block
EF transmission.
OMVL converter

Last week I got a new Gas Converter / mixer what ever you want to call it.
The mechanic that fixed it said I had some MAP code errors on the computer.
He asked me had the hose ever been changed. Which it had. He said it might be okay then.

Four months before that I installed a new Dizzy.

I’ve done about 800 km since I got my new converter. Last night I noticed my car was running like s**t again.

Checked the water etc etc.
All vacuum hoses are on.


When I come to a stop. When I put the accelerator down the car just shudders it sounds like its running to rich. It was only doing it on Gas but now it’s doing it on petrol.

I think its my map sensor. Anyone else got any other ideas
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

with the car running on petrol pull the map hose out.

you will soon know if its shagged.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

If you are running LPG only, then the MAP sensor can be unplugged/broken and it wont affect driveability as long as the hose is not leaking any air.

The MAP only affects injector timing. So if you have LPG problems, it is not the MAP.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

After Testing it’s not the MAP sensor. GRR

(This is the part where I take a sledge hammer to my car or to the engineers that designed all the systems.)

My car takes a while to start now.

It idles okay
As soon as you need power on either petrol or Gas it stutters then usually conks out if running on GAS.

When I stop at a stop sign it idles okay then when I put my foot down to go some where it stats to stutter. It dose it really bad one Gas and not as bad on petrol.

Anyone have any idea what could be wrong?

Cheers

Thanks for the people that have all ready posted you saved me $$$ from buying another map sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

Sounds a bit like a TPS problem :roll:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:38 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you say its 800km since the new convertor,

first clarify, did you get a new gas convertor or gas mixer (mixer goes inside throttlebody, convertor of football sized usually mounted on suspension tower), if you got the convertor new ones need constant tuning when they are new.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:16 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

rushed wrote:
you say its 800km since the new convertor,

first clarify, did you get a new gas convertor or gas mixer (mixer goes inside throttlebody, convertor of football sized usually mounted on suspension tower), if you got the convertor new ones need constant tuning when they are new.


I got a new converter...

Its not that my car is stuttering on both gas and petrol now

I've come to the conclusion its either the Dizzy or Coil.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 624

Joined: 5th Jul 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Fairlane NC

Location: Melbourne. SE
VIC, Australia

might just be out of tune. apparently the go out of tune a little bit after the first 1000ks because they strech the diaphram. mines been in a couple of weeks and im pretty sure it getting out of tune as it wont start without a bit of encouragement ect ect

 

_________________

NC Fairlane Ghia. AU engine. Pacemaker 4499. 2.5" Redback Zorst, tints, red dash. 17in ba xr (e-series). Suzuki Across (suzi) Sexy in Black

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:53 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

SlickNCGhia wrote:
might just be out of tune. apparently the go out of tune a little bit after the first 1000ks because they strech the diaphram. mines been in a couple of weeks and im pretty sure it getting out of tune as it wont start without a bit of encouragement ect ect


It’s in Tune Just checked it.

It starts fine when cold.
When it’s warm it takes for ever to start.

When its hot it starts to run like s**t. It could be the dizzy but thats the last thing i want to change at the moment

I don’t know what’s wrong

After replacing the coil id like to say the engineers that made the EB are f**k !!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

What about the ECT sensor???
Is there any vacuum leaks???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

cjh wrote:
What about the ECT sensor???
Is there any vacuum leaks???


Where dose the ECT sensor live ?
no vaccuum leaks.

it just runs like a retard when the car gets hot the hotter the more retarted it run.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

On the t'stat housing, has grey plastic on it.
Is the gas side of it tuned ok??? Not too rich, not too lean???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

cjh wrote:
On the t'stat housing, has grey plastic on it.
Is the gas side of it tuned ok??? Not too rich, not too lean???


It runs like crap on both Gas and Petrol ....

so i dont think its the gas
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 11:08 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 58

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon AU3

After all that it was the ETC or coolent tempture sensor ...

It took 20 seconds to isntall and with in 10 minutes my car was running like it should ..
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:02 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names