Fordmods Logo

ignition module 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: ignition module
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 663

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Richmond
NSW, Australia

After myself and a riend were installing a sound system into my EL, the car wouldnt start. I had the NRMA come take a look and he told me it was most likely a problem with the ignition module, and it happens in falcons all the time. Does anyone know what would cause a problem with the ignition module, and what the implications are ie. how much it will cost to fix?

 

_________________

NO, its not me, you are mistaken.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

did it work before the install ?

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 663

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Richmond
NSW, Australia

yeah its always worked beautifully. i drove it to where i installed it, installed it (of course) then it wouldnt drive away

 

_________________

NO, its not me, you are mistaken.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

well it problebly won't be mechanical,,go right through the wireing from go to wo,,there has to be something there..did you accidently cut a wire with out knowing,,can be done,,check all ya fuses?

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

shoot yourself in the head wont help start your car but at least i wont have to put up with your dribble..maybe pepsimax could shoot you then shoot himself.. LOL

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

nuffsaid take a long run off a short cliff and die.

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 6:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 663

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Richmond
NSW, Australia

yeah ive checked all my fuses and wiring. i want to get a mobile auto electrician to come look at it but theyre all away for christmas :evil:

 

_________________

NO, its not me, you are mistaken.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 9:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Yeah I have heard of ignition modules failing, but in your case it seems a little coincidental. Undo everything you have done and see if the car then starts. Then reinstall the stereo checking that the engine starts periodically during the install.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 189

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: FGX xr6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Does your interior light still work and does the smart lock light start flashing after a minute?

 

_________________

-Dave

If you can't do the speed limit, get the F*ck out of the right lane!
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

Nanger wrote:
Does your interior light still work and does the smart lock light start flashing after a minute?


hmmm that could be right - i did the same thing when i stuffed up a stereo install - blew the interior light fuse, which controls smartlock - so maybe a good one to check just in case?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 663

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Richmond
NSW, Australia

ive taken out the entire sterio and the ignition will not go. The interior light does not work, neither does the smart lock. however ive checked all the fuses...all fine

 

_________________

NO, its not me, you are mistaken.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 189

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: FGX xr6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If the interior light and smart lock light don't work, the car wont start. Replace the CRT LMP fuse and try again.

 

_________________

-Dave

If you can't do the speed limit, get the F*ck out of the right lane!
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

before replacing the fuse check all wireing cause the fuse blew for a reason

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 10:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 663

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Richmond
NSW, Australia

yeah thats the fuse...its fixed now. i checked wiring...all seems fine. ill see how i go. thanks for the help guys

 

_________________

NO, its not me, you are mistaken.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 11:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 119

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

99chris99 wrote:
yeah thats the fuse...its fixed now. i checked wiring...all seems fine. ill see how i go. thanks for the help guys


That would have been the first thing that I would have checked and with a Oms meter tooooooo.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names