Fordmods Logo

Installing temp gauge 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Installing temp gauge
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Just bought a splitfire temp gauge and it is a mechanical gauge with a capillery cable, Installed it all, BUT... the cable doesnt reach to my temp sensor underneth the thermostat. Is there a temp sensor on the back of the head on efs?

Has anyone done it a different way? My gauge is located on the pillar.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 8:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

When I was doing my gauges, everyone I spoke to said mechanical gauges are illegal inside the cabbin.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

not that big a problem with water temp

the problem with oil and fuel pressure gauges is that they have a fluid line full of an (obviously) flammable liquid running into the cabin
with the temp gauges, they run a sealed sensor bulb that is immersed in the oil or water, and the sensor is run thru a pressurised line into the gauge, meaning no fluid is actually entering the cabin, making mechanical temperature gauges safe

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 9:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

so is there a way to hook it up besides the temp sensor under the thermostat? any gauge on the pillar is illegal in n.s.w
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing temp gauge
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

XCH45R wrote:
Just bought a splitfire temp gauge and it is a mechanical gauge with a capillery cable, Installed it all, BUT... the cable doesnt reach to my temp sensor underneth the thermostat. Is there a temp sensor on the back of the head on efs?

Has anyone done it a different way? My gauge is located on the pillar.


dude u have mechanical gauge hence u cant hook it up to the temp sensor on the thermostat. the bulb at teh end has to be immersed in the coolant for it to work.

imy advice is mabye mount it under the dash ie above your knees or even on the side of the centre console
or take the gauge back and buy a electric guage and u can make the lead as long/short as u want and open up heaps of mounting options!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

true, although where would i get a correct temp reading ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:57 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

what ya mean and for what gauge?
the mehcanical gauge cna be put anyware as long as it is at the "hot" side of the rad ie b4 the water has flowed into the rad hence why the thermostat housing is used

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:03 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 54

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6 UTE ,MK1 ESCORT

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

correct me if i'm wrong but isn't there a coolant line running through the inlet manifold you could always run it from there ?????

 

_________________

Blueprint please ... i want to be different ..............

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

yes frank, the mechanical gauge. the furthest the gauge cable reachs is my header tank, which wouldent give a very accurate reading. hence the reason i was asking if there was a temp sensor on the back of the head, pretty sure AUs have one there.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:52 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

no temp sender on the back of my au..
and the temp sender is for a electronic gauge not mechanical

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing temp gauge
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
XCH45R wrote:
Just bought a splitfire temp gauge and it is a mechanical gauge with a capillery cable, Installed it all, BUT... the cable doesnt reach to my temp sensor underneth the thermostat. Is there a temp sensor on the back of the head on efs?

Has anyone done it a different way? My gauge is located on the pillar.


dude u have mechanical gauge hence u cant hook it up to the temp sensor on the thermostat. the bulb at teh end has to be immersed in the coolant for it to work.

imy advice is mabye mount it under the dash ie above your knees or even on the side of the centre console
or take the gauge back and buy a electric guage and u can make the lead as long/short as u want and open up heaps of mounting options!


But Frank! Cant he just screw the mechanical sender (ie the bulb part) into the spot where the electrical sender normally goes? I cant see any reason why not, it has contact with the coolant, and its before he radiator :P

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 9:03 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yes he can i think that is what he has done but the caplilary tube is not long enough to reach to were he wants to mount the guage

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 9:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

yeah i can do that but it wont reach, the bulb has like a thread on it to screw into somewhere? :roll: lol
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names