Fordmods Logo

intech series 2 motor to xr 6 hp spec 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: intech series 2 motor to xr 6 hp spec
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: ford fairmont au series 2

VIC, Australia

I would first like to put this dislaimer that i am not a mechanic nor am i an expert on the ford au xr6 but after a lot of research i am putting my own experiences in a post for others to possibly benefit from.
First of all i have a standard au i6 intech motor in a series 2 fairmont with a BA intake k& n panel filter 2 1/2 inch lukey exhaust with redback rear muffler and pacey 4499 extractors.This motor has 100,000 klms on it.Also had chris and theo at Bluepower do a performance service.
What i was attempting to do was turn my motor into a series 2 xr6 hp motor.
I bought a s2 xr6 cam new from ford and had it installed today.
I will put in point form things that i have read vs my personal experience.
1. according to bosch the fuel regulator for the xr6 hp motor is the same as the standard motor only the vct has the 3.5 bar fuel pressure regulator.So the intech and the xr6 hp both run 270 kpa regs.
2. I fitted the 3.5 bar reg to my car before the cam went in.When i picked the car up it was running rough and the car almost stalled stopping at the lights.
3. I came home and put the 270 kpa reg back in and took the car for a drive.
No stalling at the lights,lot smoother idle and the car has a substantial increase in throttle response and bum-o-meter klw ( this is an expression i picked up from someone else here )
In short i am very impressed.
4. The ecu has not been catch coded to xr6 spec and is still standard and runs just fine.
5.One thing i have read is that you need a different fuel rail for the 3.5 bar reg but it went in without a problem in my standard intech rail, Ford also agreed this would be the case.