Fordmods Logo

just a question 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: just a question
Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

i took my dash out today to replace it and where the brake light switch is there is a switch with a vacuum line attached,,,i have never heard of nor seen this before,,but has anyone else seen this,,it's a 1990 ghia sedan

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 12:09 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 100

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Ride: EB

Location: dandenong melbourne
VIC, Australia

i think its for the cruise control.it turns off cruise control when u hit the brakes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

yeah thats what we suspected,,but it not mentioned in the book,,

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 376

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: xc 351

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

i love pepsi max ive had a can a day since 97 without fail sometimes 2.

 

_________________

xg ute, mods include, i painted the interior light
Team- love the dragons
spare wheel
casette player
bench seat
tow bar

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 8:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

thats why i chose it,,,it's better than diet joke,,and even better than diet pepsi,,,,

on a side note i bought the clear front indicators today,,putting then on on the weekend,,,

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:44 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 44

Joined: 24th Jun 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

do you guys work for pepsi or something? :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 10:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

christopher wrote:
i think its for the cruise control.it turns off cruise control when u hit the brakes.


Most definately the cruise conrol switch. On EA, EB and ED the Cruise Control was a vacuum control system and required a seperate switch to 1, disengage cruise, and 2 release vacuum from the system.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

christopher wrote:
i think its for the cruise control.it turns off cruise control when u hit the brakes.


i always though the the cruise 'off' wiring was hooked up to the brake light wiring so that when you but you foot on the brake your stop lights would come effectivly turning of the cruise control

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 100

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Ride: EB

Location: dandenong melbourne
VIC, Australia

i think ef-el used electric instead of vacum and cokes tastes better
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 376

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: xc 351

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

no dont work for pepsi just drink alot of it thats why im a big man.

 

_________________

xg ute, mods include, i painted the interior light
Team- love the dragons
spare wheel
casette player
bench seat
tow bar

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

nannas_ed wrote:
christopher wrote:
i think its for the cruise control.it turns off cruise control when u hit the brakes.


i always though the the cruise 'off' wiring was hooked up to the brake light wiring so that when you but you foot on the brake your stop lights would come effectivly turning of the cruise control


You are right, on an EF-EL it uses the brake light switch. However on the EA-ED because it is a vacuum operated system it uses a seperate combination switch which is also mounted on the brake pedal.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 400

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA

Location: kirra
QLD, Australia

tristo wrote:
no dont work for pepsi just drink alot of it thats why im a big man.


same here :D

 

_________________

NO ONE DIES A VIRGIN AS LIFE SCREWS US ALL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 376

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: xc 351

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

sensash

 

_________________

xg ute, mods include, i painted the interior light
Team- love the dragons
spare wheel
casette player
bench seat
tow bar

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: just a question
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 1

Joined: 6th May 2005

Ride: EA Faimont Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

pepsimax wrote:
i took my dash out today to replace it and where the brake light switch is there is a switch with a vacuum line attached,,,i have never heard of nor seen this before,,but has anyone else seen this,,it's a 1990 ghia sedan
On the EA Ghia There is an air tube that conects to the cabin temperature sensor ,
to get to it remove the two small switch panels on either side of the steering column, beneath the instrument panel. Removethe two instument panel bezel screws,remove the three screws retaining the instrument panel bezel, lower the adjustable steering colum and withdraw the bezel, Remove the radio surround bezel retaining screws, unclip the lower retaining pegs and remove the bezel, remove the four screws retaining the centre register housing and withdraw sufficiently toallow access to the cabin temperature sensor,be carefull when removing it pry it gently from the two mounting pins Excessisive force will break the mounting pins, this is where the air lin conects to along with the wiring,
Good Luck Axel

 

_________________

Jeez Bloody Beautiful Mate

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Rigby97 and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names