Fordmods Logo

Lame as..posibly another engine to replace.. 

 

Page 2 of 4 [ 51 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:31 pm 
QLD Cruise Moderator
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 407

Joined: 20th Jul 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Ford Falcon Wagon

Location: Atkinsons Dam an hour out of Brisbane
QLD, Australia

keep a eye on ebay theirs some cheap AU Motors their from time to time Ashcook just sold one for $500 i think HI Ash
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

ashcook wrote:
Be careful when you tighten up the new sensor, they break like a 1c condom. Every time I try to remove one I end up f**k it. They are roughly $60 new.


Yeam im pretty sure thats how it got broken in the first place.. They also just left it and disconnected the wiring, so the gauge was reading spanglish. :roll:

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

i think you may have found the reason....but it might be too late as the damage has probably already been done.....low oil pressure has probably f**k the bearings

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Well i dunno, because previous to the oil pressure sensor the car was holding oil fine and it didnt really make any bad bottom end noises ..But yeah ill just have to wait and see how i go after i replace the sensor.. :?

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Okay i finally went to the shop and picked up the item i ordered which is the oil pressure sender.. tridon brand, now am i right in saying that the oil pressure (switch) connects to this sender? I am going to put more oil in the car and just let it run for a while and find out if it is the sender/switch that is leaking the oil.. i still think it is as thier is fresh oil underneath the sender itself.

And when removing the old sender and replacing the new one does it have to be screwed in extra tight or not too tight to avoid thread damage?

I just dont want the bastard leaking oil on me. I will be getting ramps to put the car on so i can get underneath the car properly and will be fixing this next week hopefully.

The stupid repair manuals i buy dont even show how to remove/replace these things.. LOL atleast i know what im looking at now..

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Ahh k, yeah i might give it a try doing it like that. I was gonna change the oil filter and put new oil in after i replaced it ne ways, can u get to the filter from much the same way?

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

ashcook wrote:
If it looks similar to this, thenit is definitely a switch and NOT what you need

Attachment:
BA-2010452-1.jpg


I can't find an image of a sender but they have a plastic body about 2 inches from the hex base. Much longer than a switch, hence why they break so easily.

I found the easiest way to get access is to remove the airbox and snorkel and go in form the front under the BBM.


It looks similar, but it reads on the packet Oil Pressure Sender, has a screw base with a plastic bit with has a small spade terminal sticking out of it..

So is this the thingy that is worn and leaking oil.. or am i missing something here and its something different.. Lol this thing only cost me $13 and the Ford oil pressure switch is $40+ i got NFI if its the same thing lol...sigh.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

ashcook wrote:
I'd say most likely you got a oil switch, not a sender. Can you put up a photo. Should have cost you $50-$60 for a sender.


Yeah I got one wating t the shop for me, a tridon $66

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Hmmm.. ill borrow my sisters phone haha my digital camera shat itself ages ago. will upload a pic asap.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

Thats a switch, not a sensor :)

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Here you go...

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: Switch
Switch.JPG
Switch.JPG [ 198.48 KiB | Viewed 40 times ]
File comment: Sender
Sender.JPG
Sender.JPG [ 202.34 KiB | Viewed 51 times ]

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

So your saying i need the oil pressure Switch?? as in the one in the first pic madmatt took? And thats the little bugger thats near the oil filter?

I dont know the difference haha that prolly why i got the wrong one! :roll:

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Switch (on off)
Sender is what you need.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Ahhh i see now. So i shall go buy a sender then from Ford i think lol.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names