Fordmods Logo

low coolant light won't go out! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: low coolant light won't go out!
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ok i put an xr cluster in my ef, and the coolant light won't stop flashing.
i've got the sender in the coolant tank and it's plugged in.
i've even tried another one which i know works (180 ohms when up, 1.3k ohms when down).
please, some help!
cheers.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

What is your ef? gli, fairmont, fairmont ghia, futura or what, it makes a difference to the wiring and bem. :roll:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

a povo gli.
it never came with the light.
cheers.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 6:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 376

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

get a hammer, and SMASH that light! :)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 6:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

nar f**k that, i need a light just incase.
my ef xr6 just popped a leak out of the welsch plug, and i now find out the light is blown, luckily i spotted it.
all this just after i did a head gasket change on the b**ch!

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

might be time you thought about a BA

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

that's next years agenda, hopefully a typhoon will fill my current carpark.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

If its a GLi with ABS, then you'll have the plug there for the low coolant sensor in the engine bay, even if you plug that in, it wont cause the light to stop flashing.

The nice guys at ford made the engine bay looms with ABS all the same and all wiring is there!
BUT this yellow/red wire teminates at the firewall (inside)!
Fortunatley its the rear (visible) part of the plug when your heads in the footwell,
So! just find it within the nice snug white plug in the upper part of the firewall, and join a wire to it and then tap it into the cluster plug.

hell, while your at it, find the washer bottle level sensor wire (pink/yellow) and do the same (all you need then is the washer bottle!)


and I hope this helps!

cheers
Andrew

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah mate that helps me heaps, i didn't know ford was so budget.
my ef came with abs and cruise from the factory, so yeah as you said, the plug is there.
i might have to bowl that exercise over this weekend.
cheers.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

No Probs!
been there done that,
its actually quite easy to axcess, you can even unclip the plug and lower it for easier fitment.

and to let you know, the Coolant sensor wire is on the RHS of the cluster, Pin No.3 Inbetween the Yellow/Green and White wires!


'n g'luck

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yep, i just did the research on pin-outs on the cluster.
so the black wire is signal ground i presume?
i have a few spare pins laying around somewhere too.
cheers.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

yep, and as usual the ground is already there, only one wire is required.
I think this is the case with all cluster mods, Inc: spot lamps and yeh well you get the drift!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

that worked sweet, i ran the wires from the cluster to the plug under the accelerator panel.
i just pulled the pins out of a trip computer plug i had laying around.
i've also ran a wire for the foglight lamp, just incase i do decide to fit foglights.
thanks heaps dude.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

i dont see the point in the light myself.

if your coolant runs empty, the light wont switch on... its sensing for coolant, and if theirs none in their, it wont work... i just took the globe out of mine

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

mrnasty wrote:
i dont see the point in the light myself.

if your coolant runs empty, the light wont switch on... its sensing for coolant, and if theirs none in their, it wont work... i just took the globe out of mine



the whole point is the light comes on when the level drops. the is a float in the header tank, not coolent float drops light comes on

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names