Fordmods Logo

manifold 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: manifold
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 6:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

thinking about changing the manifold on my XH for the sedan/XR manifold. (6 cylinder)

need to know if i have to change the computer or not. hopefully i dont have. any help with this would be appreciated
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 5:54 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Im assuming that you mean you want to change to the BBM manifold (dual plane), which was in the XH XR's, and all passenger cars from EF onwards?
if so, the computer change is not neccessary, but you will however need an RPM switch, as the runners switch over at a set RPM. Which I can't remember somewhere around the 3750 or so mark I think.

You can always stick in a new computer if you're up to it. In an XH im sure the plugs are already there, just need an XH XR ECU (good luck lol)

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah thast cool.

i just needed to know if i could change it over with very few hassles thats all.

if i need an rpm switch, should they be part of the manifold or the programmed into the computer?

see how i go tracking down an XR6 computer.......
someone is bound to have one somewhere......
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Jaycar now do an RPM switch kit for not too much $$!. Nice easy way to switch it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

For right now, you could get away with using a standard EL ECU I think - youd get the BBM switching at least.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If its an XH series one, then an EF..? if its an XH series 2 EL AFAIK.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

its a march 97 build so you guys tell me whether its an XHI or XHII.

i dont know what the change over period would've been.

i think its an XHII os my brother has a 96 model XH and theres a few subtle differences between the 2.

so yeah any info from you guys would be great.

from what your saying here, will the sedan ECU plug into the XH loom???

interesting.......
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

XH series one is 94-96 XH series 2 was from there onto 98 just like the sedans AFAIK.

Easy way to tell, go see if you have a dizzy or a coil pack.

Im pretty sure you can get away with a sedan ECU.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:15 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 319

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU I forte

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I got a simliar question i like the idea of putting an AU manifold on my EB what would i have to do there?

 

_________________

PH 4480 racing extractors
lukey 2.5" sports exhaust
Chopper 19"x245 mags
pioneer deck, 6"x1.5" Splits (F) and 6" 3-way speakers (R)
Precision response 4x 100w amp and 1000w mono 10" sub
Got so much more to go!
tint, breaks and spoiler next!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

EF-BA have exactly the same manifold for the i6's.
So anything here is relavent.
Do a search. These manifolds are called BBM or BroadBand Manifold manifolds.
Plenty of these conversions been done.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

thanks for that guys. i shall now get on to sorting out the bbm manifold

thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 43 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names