Fordmods Logo

Map sensor interchange ability 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Map sensor interchange ability
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

i have a map sensor taken from a EL and would like to test it to see if it works. will it work on my 3.9 multipoint DC without any problems? I don't wanna bugger my engine for the sake of a $20 part.

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Map sensor
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:12 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 32

Joined: 25th Apr 2005

Ride: Falcon S Pak

Location: Bli Bli
QLD, Australia

map sensors are all the same, i use an ef sensor on my eb. It will not cause problems.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:55 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thank you fordzatmyplace for asking this question. i was wondering the same thing cause i think my map sensor in my EL is buggered so im going to replace the map sensor from the EA Fairmont to the EL Fairmont. they are the same parts are they not? just double checking

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

okay well i just put the EL map sensor into my 3.9 and it seems to work quite well. Hope this clears things up for some people

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Map sensor interchange ability
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
i have a map sensor taken from a EL and would like to test it to see if it works. will it work on my 3.9 multipoint DC without any problems? I don't wanna bugger my engine for the sake of a $20 part.
You can test it reliably with the diagnostics. It will either be working or the diagnostics will fault if its not working or not within calibration.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:04 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah i just swapped mine over as well but it still seems to drink a lot. i guess they both work...so i hope. how do u check it with diagnostics?

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

phongus wrote:
yeah i just swapped mine over as well but it still seems to drink a lot. i guess they both work...so i hope. how do u check it with diagnostics?

phong =P~
You need to visit the Tech documents section for EF/EL I don't know if the EEC-IV is in there though.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yes from EA to EL you can swap them no problem there is no difference in signal output at all.

There is a slight design difference internally with the EF/EL, they have a mechanism to stop them blowing apart from an LPG backfire.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

well mine dosen't have the rough idle upon cold startup any more which i am pretty happy about considering i found the new map sensor just laying on the garage floor :shock:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names