Fordmods Logo

my BBM conversion 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 31 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: my BBM conversion
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:44 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,
started my bbm conversion today, got the manifold off and so far all is good, bloody confusing lol...

i have created this threat for problems ill be running into and here is my 1st one...

on the side of the block there is a small black wire (looks like its been teared off) but i cant seem to find the other end.

Pics:
Image

Closer pic:
Image


i have started creating a doco for this modd also.
Cheers
Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by phat-ED on Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:12 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i wouldnt worry to much, its just a noise supressor for electrical noise, theres no harm in not running one (unless you have a poorly grounded stereo that is susceptible to engine noise and whining)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

i see... lol i was a little worried.
nah my stereo is really good, although when i had my xbox and tft screen installed i was getting engine whine (only when using audio from xbox tho) dont spose u know where its suposed to get connected to?, im guessing its the chassi

Cheers
Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

it will be good to have a read of the doco when your done, I might try this conversion later on down the track, i send you a PM to help me out seeing as you are in Geelong!

keep the good work up

cheers

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:13 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

Hey guys, well today everything got connected and all seemed well untill i turned the key and nothing happened.... :shock:

has this happened to anybody else or could some1 give me an idea as to why its not even turning over.
Cheers
Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 112

Joined: 29th Jul 2007

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Moruya
NSW, Australia

the 2 big round plugs well off one of them there is a little 4 pin plug make sure its pluged in

 

_________________

God made Holdens to keep d**k Heads out of FORDS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

yup thats plugged in...double checked it

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

You might have knocked the starter solenoid wire off or forgot to reconnect it.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:54 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

what color wire is supposed to go to the starter solenoid?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:54 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

and thanks for the quick reply guys

Cheers
Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:06 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

cant anybody tell me the color of the wire thats suposed to goto the start motor solenoid? im having no luck....

i cant see any loose wires under the manifold/wires that havnt been connected.

car still not turning over

Cheers
Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

It should be a Red/Blue that goes from the starter relay to the starter solenoid. Check that when you turn the key to the start position that you can hear the starter relay click if you can then check that you get 12v at the solenoid connection Red/blue. If the relay does not click then you need to find out why the relay does not click.
You need a manual for your car, you can get one from Ebay on disk for about $10 posted to you.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:10 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

yeh the relay is clicking, i have to cables hanging under the manifold, a red one and a red one with a green stripe, i cant seem to find where they go tho...i went to a wreckers and half alook at a few eb/ed motors but they were just dangeling aswell

Cheers Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Daniel, Which relay is clicking .....A relay will click in when you turn on the ign and another will click when you move the key to start posn. Just to check the engine does not turn over at all. Also do you have smart lock in your car.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 721

Joined: 31st Dec 2005

Ride: EF V8 Futura, 180sx

Location: Brisbane, Burpengary
QLD, Australia

what i done is when my car would start after my auto manual conversion i got someone in the boot and lissen for fuel pump see if that even operate when you turn the car on if dose look towards netural saftey switch(my problem was that) you might of bumped the loom when you pulled the manifold out. it a 8 pin plug and should be at the back of the manifold between the firewall have a look at that and check that the wire are secured and pluged in tight.
or check ya netural safty switch opon the box if manual

 

_________________

Ford EF Futura Black
18" koya Strykers, AU engine with port and polish EB head, crow valve springs, standard cam, Large aftermarket RX7 turbo, T5 manual 3" intercooler piping, 600x300x100 intercooler core, MSII with innovate wideband O2 sensor and guage. BA F6 bodykit

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names