Fordmods Logo

necessary to reset ECU after all these mods? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: necessary to reset ECU after all these mods?
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey Guys.

I've been told many times to reset my ecu now that i got the new cam, but i am hesitant to do it, shouldnt it relearn new mixtures or will it just plain be up the sh11t coz its been mucked round to many times? the timing has been fiddled with many times (advanced, de advanced, advanced etc), a different cam has been put in, and a new oxy sensor has been put in, and havent reset it at all since i first put the motor together. Is the ECU not adjusting (running fairly rich now) and is just thinking somethigns wrong and is tryign to compensate, or will it be fine leaving it how it is.


Thankx
- Grechie

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Resetting the ecu is rarely needed, but usually it doesnt hurt to do it anyway. The ECU will always adapt to the engine, it is just that it 'learns' at a faster rate after a reset.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

how long we talking if i dont reset it ? all i know is, when we played with the timing, the car now when warm throws fuel on startup, but not on cold, even on stock timing it does it , so it cant be the actual timing, maybe the ecu is just in need of one ?

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 4:36 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I am yet to see an E-Series 4L that doesn't dump fuel out the exhaust on starts, cold or hot.
Could take a week to learn, could take less, the whole "ECU reset" thing is made out to be alot more important then it actually is.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
I am yet to see an E-Series 4L that doesn't dump fuel out the exhaust on starts, cold or hot.
Could take a week to learn, could take less, the whole "ECU reset" thing is made out to be alot more important then it actually is.


exactly. When i have my battery disconnected, and then go for a drive, it behaves in the exact same way :?

I think thats mabey becuase i have no really major mods though

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ecu
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 632

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: el xr8

Location: bidwill
NSW, Australia

would you need 2 reset ECU if u only change ur cam and nothing else

 

_________________

i smell bad even when fm members drive past lol.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ecu
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:59 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

fordebgt93 wrote:
would you need 2 reset ECU if u only change ur cam and nothing else

You don't ever "need" to reset the ECU.
If you reset it, the ECU will "learn the cam" quicker, but if you don't it will eventually learn anyway.
So yes, its a good idea, but if you don't, it won't do any harm, EEC is pretty smart.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ECU
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 632

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: el xr8

Location: bidwill
NSW, Australia

at what stage if any would u need 2 reset ecu

 

_________________

i smell bad even when fm members drive past lol.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:11 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

What do you mean?
It's not a massively important thing to do it at the "right time", or even at all.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ecu
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 632

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: el xr8

Location: bidwill
NSW, Australia

yeah ,i just did,nt know when or if it had to be done .Just taking a keen interest

 

_________________

i smell bad even when fm members drive past lol.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

fordzatmyplace wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
I am yet to see an E-Series 4L that doesn't dump fuel out the exhaust on starts, cold or hot.
Could take a week to learn, could take less, the whole "ECU reset" thing is made out to be alot more important then it actually is.


exactly. When i have my battery disconnected, and then go for a drive, it behaves in the exact same way :?

I think thats mabey becuase i have no really major mods though


i find mine stalls at lights when i first reconnect the battery, after about a week its fine though!

Steady ED wrote:
What do you mean?
It's not a massively important thing to do it at the "right time", or even at all.

at the third stroke of midnight acutally, on a full moon!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

just do it. you've put a cam in so you shouldn't be worried about chooing fuel.

besides. get the engine hot, run it around the block twice. put it in park with the hand brake on and run the AC for a bit.

10 minute job

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
i find mine stalls at lights when i first reconnect the battery, after about a week its fine though!


you got a stinky EF, so you don't count :)

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 1:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

im not just a reseetingg a ecu junky guys, i expolained i had timing up and down quiet alot new oxy sensor and a new cam to the old wade i had, and as far as i was concnered the ecu was running sick

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ecu
Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:03 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 395

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF II XR6 Turbo Ute

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
fordebgt93 wrote:
would you need 2 reset ECU if u only change ur cam and nothing else

You don't ever "need" to reset the ECU.
If you reset it, the ECU will "learn the cam" quicker, but if you don't it will eventually learn anyway.
So yes, its a good idea, but if you don't, it won't do any harm, EEC is pretty smart.


smarter than you aint it jared

 

_________________

No dose No Care

P.B of 12.2@118 with more in it!!!!

Formerly known as ebturb

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names