Fordmods Logo

Need Help with ef Cruise control!! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Need Help with ef Cruise control!!
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi, just wonderin if any one could help me with the cruise control in my ef futura? it comes on but wont activate. the on off buttons work fine but it can't be set. this just happend a few days ago, before that it was working fine. i couldnt find any fuses either. if any one has any ideas, or had this happen to them before, it would be a great help to let me know what the problem is an how i could fix it. thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Check your brake lights.
If the brake switch is faulty the cruise wont work.

check the cable if theres any tension, the cable may have snapped (unlikely) or even undone.

Also test above 40kph.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi thanks, yer my brake lights are fine, so it not that. where abouts can i find this cable your talking about??

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Krytox wrote:
Check your brake lights.
If the brake switch is faulty the cruise wont work.

wrong!
how will the car know the brake switch is faulty! its a normally open switch, brake lights off = open circuit, brake lights on, closed circuit.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
Krytox wrote:
Check your brake lights.
If the brake switch is faulty the cruise wont work.

wrong!
how will the car know the brake switch is faulty! its a normally open switch, brake lights off = open circuit, brake lights on, closed circuit.


Meh,
Since when can't a N.O switch short?
also its metal, it could even have a high resistance on the pedal.

Its a mere suggestion, We had a problem with a brake switch on Dazzat's car where the cruise wouldn't work, neither would the lights, however the switch got hot started to smell.
replaced the switch and all was well.

Also if you have installed the wrong brake globes you'll send voltage down the cruise control acting if you were on the brakes when parkers are on.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Here's a bit of reading: http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=25461

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:43 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: 94 Futura

Location: Midland
WA, Australia

Had the same symptoms, read the doco, checked the voltages on the cruise control connector - all seemed in order (except it did not work). Swapped out the cruise control motor/electronics and that was it.
Expensive fix.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Ok my cruise failed due to the saftey switch (cant remember the proper name right now) on the master cyl. I have had my brake light switch fail and still had cruise.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 535

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Ride: EF wagon & EF fairmont wagon & M

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have had a dodgy brake light switch (new ones are $9 repco) and it caused my cruise to cut out all the time. It works perfectly with the new switch. You could get another cruise module from deer park wreckers. Give them a call and get a price they will post.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cruise issues
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 103

Joined: 28th Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EF11 Ghia EB11 Ghia Courier ute

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

have a friend with EF Mont with similar symptoms , could set cruise with the - (minus) button but not the + (plus) one, replaced switch set, all fixed :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise issues
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 156

Joined: 15th Jun 2006

Ride: XH Ute

Location: Leinster
WA, Australia

pop058 wrote:
have a friend with EF Mont with similar symptoms , could set cruise with the - (minus) button but not the + (plus) one, replaced switch set, all fixed :)


I have the same - / + setting issue with my XH. Did your friend just fit new switches in to the steering wheel ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 197

Joined: 24th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: vs cluby,elxr6t

Location: Frankganistan
VIC, Australia

ive got a manual xr6 and i have read the other page that you have linked snap.
could anyone tell me if the clutch switch for the cruize control is normally open, or normally closed as i need to know so i can test it.

 

_________________

wish i had bigger wheels.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

n/c

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 121

Joined: 12th May 2006

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Clutch switch is closed when there is no pressure on it.

Also check your cable. It runs next to your accelerator cable on the throttle body.
*runs outside*
Its the wire closest to the firewall

 

_________________

Old car burnt.
New car XR6 Turbo !!
No mods, anyone want a xr6t ?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 10826

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: BF MK11 XR 6 TURBO ZF 6spd

Power: 225 rwkw

Location: glenwood/sydney
NSW, Australia

i know its digging a lil but least its relevant.. :wink:

I had tryed replacing all the switch's and fuses to get the cruise control to operate ijn my ef fairmont.. and after 4.5 years i baught a new cruise control motor complete with the cable coupling from "pick n payless" Blacktown and bolted it in...

CRUISE CONTROL WORKS NOW!!!!!!! jeez, im not use to all that luxary.. :lol:

 

_________________

Todd: Nurse, suction.
Nurse: The patient's not even here yet.
Todd: I know.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GQpRYRcAiA

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names