Fordmods Logo

Need pics of E Series coolant tank sensor. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Need pics of E Series coolant tank sensor.
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Looking for pics of the sensor for the E Series coolant tank.....Especially the plug.
Thanks.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

My sensor is in the tank, but I can give you pix tomorrow of both parts of the plug. ie the one off the tank unit and the wiring harness half.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Paulmac wrote:
My sensor is in the tank, but I can give you pix tomorrow of both parts of the plug. ie the one off the tank unit and the wiring harness half.
Paul


That would be great! Thats exactly what I'm looking for.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

I'll try to have them up before 9:00. If you're only trying to find the loom bit, look for a black tubular connector buried underneath the mass of wires beneath the tank and near the side of the battery plate. Mine was bloody hard to find,EB2, but it was there.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:13 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Here, I replaced my recovery bottle 3 days ago, so this was out the front.

 

 

Attachments:
DSCF0414.JPG
DSCF0414.JPG [ 111.71 KiB | Viewed 39 times ]

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Thanks Krytox,
One less job to do,
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Cheers Krytox. Just wondering if you also have a pic of the other section that plugs into the sensor by any chance?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

yep, do now

 

 

Attachments:
DSCF0415.JPG
DSCF0415.JPG [ 116.28 KiB | Viewed 48 times ]

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Any idea what that other plug with a yellow wire on it is for? My ED has the same thing. If that is where the coolant sensor plugs into then I will be able to fit a sensor to mine.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Ok!

Yes, The float plug (female) connects to the lower one!.

The lower plug (Male) has a Black (common) wire and a Yellow Wire with a thin red stripe.

This wire should go to above your feet in a GLi (with abs) and above spec car.

In some cases, the wire will travel to the cluster and will just require a globe in the dash cluster.

Other cases you'll need to fetch the wire (near the firewall inside the car) and then manually connected it to the associated pin on the cluster.

Cars without ABS may require you to route a wire directly from the switch to the cluster.

You only require one wire for it to work providing you have earthed out the black wire for the float switch.

cheers!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Cheers for the pics/info. Only thing left for me to do now is buy a coolant tank with a sensor and try it.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:36 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names