Fordmods Logo

Need to replace an XG motor - what motors are compatible? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

Post subject: Need to replace an XG motor - what motors are compatible?
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ford EL

SA, Australia

Hi,
Im new to Fordmods, and hope Im in the right area.
We need to replace the motor in an XG panelvan and want to be sure before we buy the motor that we are getting the right one.
Some people have said that the EF/EL motor will go in but needs different pulleys and different manifold, while others have said that it needs to be an EA/EB motor.
Can anyone out there please clear this up for us?
The air conditioning has never worked, so we are not fussed about having that going if it matters, as we were told by yet another person that you have to get a specific motor to have air con.
As you can see, we have alot of random information and none of it solid, we would really appreciate some help with this, as I have heard that Fordmods is home to a number of knowledgeable people :)
Thanks for your time. :)

Post subject: Re: Need to replace an XG motor - what motors are compatible?
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:59 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

NSW, Australia

Antic wrote:
Hi,
Im new to Fordmods, and hope Im in the right area.
We need to replace the motor in an XG panelvan and want to be sure before we buy the motor that we are getting the right one.
Some people have said that the EF/EL motor will go in but needs different pulleys and different manifold, while others have said that it needs to be an EA/EB motor.
Can anyone out there please clear this up for us?
The air conditioning has never worked, so we are not fussed about having that going if it matters, as we were told by yet another person that you have to get a specific motor to have air con.