Fordmods Logo

new mods.. running rich 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: new mods.. running rich
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:50 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

okay so after I put the cam and ported head AU gasket on,

cars running very rich.. havn't driven it yet only had it idling for a few mins. whats the best procedure now? do I just start diving it and the ECU will sort itself out or what?

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 561

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: XC V8

Location: Easten
SA, Australia

see if it will work its self out or put a smaller fuel reg in, i have a few laying around for a EA-ED if you need one i got a few 270's and 250's and a 300kpa

 

_________________

1976 XC falcon
182 Clio Sport

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:39 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

okay so I just drive it around for a while and let the computer tune itself then? it shouldn't be that much different, it's only cam, port, and thinner headgasket..

I would have assumed it would run lean :? weird

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

it takes a while to relearn fully, give it a week and see how its goin.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 4:06 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

a ford with a stock computer running lean? does that happen, lol

drive it around for a while 200k's and see if it still has a fountain of fuel comming out the back.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:20 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

jeez I've driven it around the block a few times and I did the reset the computer idle thing... still blowing black smoke.

a week? s**t.. I'm bound to get an instant emmisions fine...

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 496

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII Fairmont Ghia

Location: Warragul
VIC, Australia

Mine was blowing black smoke when my MAP sensor vaccuum hose wasn't connected, check that. It'll be to the right of the back of motor looking from the front.

Ben
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:14 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

where abouts does it connect to... pic?

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey, ignore the tennis raquet cause your is probably mpfi, the map sensor is the little black box at the top of the pic and the tube coming out from it connects to somewhere like the intake manifold or throttle body (can't remember 100%) but just look out for an empty protrusion that the hose would fit on, usually looks pretty obvious.

Image

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

cheers smiles will have a lookie..

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:26 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 304

Joined: 5th Sep 2006

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

awesome! that was it.. connection had come off. All good now. Cheers!!

(now just need to shim cam and all done)

 

_________________

http://www.retrotech.co.nz

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

yay, I deserve a rating for that pic! 8-)

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:02 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

wow you never said it was billowing black smoke out the back.

when the maf came unplugged on my car i was followed by a black cloud untill i put the hose back in.

glad your problem is solved.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names