Fordmods Logo

no cruise control? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: no cruise control?
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 68

Joined: 11th Feb 2005

Location: St Leonards
NSW, Australia

i got an ebII and the cruise control has never worked since i got the car.
anyway the light on the dash comes on and im setting it properly but it just slows down when i take my foot off the pedal...
i want my cruise control! any ideas?
cheers

 

_________________

at the bottom of the chain

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 47

Joined: 31st Oct 2006

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Melton
VIC, Australia

Check the cruise control attachment where it hooks onto the throttle body. Had a problem with mine coming loose a while ago.

 

_________________

Speed. Is there anything that compares?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: no cruise control?
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Hey mate, check for a vacuum leak. Vac lines go from the vacuum pump, which is located behind left strut tower, which then go to the opposite side into the bellows (thing that attaches to second throttle cable). Also, there is a t-piece somewhere near the middle that goes through firewall, and down into the car at the brake pedal, where it connects to a second switch, just above brake light switch.

P.S does the "CRUISE" light come on in dash when you press switched on wheel? If not, maybe module is knackered ($10 bucks at wrecker).

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 68

Joined: 11th Feb 2005

Location: St Leonards
NSW, Australia

yea there were 2 things that didnt look right.. there was a wire connection that was unplugged where you mentioned.. and also there was what looked to be a hose connection coming off one of the pipes there but no hose in sight to connect it to..
im prolly not very good at explaining.. should i take some pics?
an yea the cruise light does come on

 

_________________

at the bottom of the chain

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

EBmate wrote:
yea there were 2 things that didnt look right.. there was a wire connection that was unplugged where you mentioned.. and also there was what looked to be a hose connection coming off one of the pipes there but no hose in sight to connect it to..
im prolly not very good at explaining.. should i take some pics?
an yea the cruise light does come on


Yeah mate prob help, but i'll prob respond in about an hour or so as im off to geelong to visit relo's. but definately will respond.

hear from you soon.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 6:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 68

Joined: 11th Feb 2005

Location: St Leonards
NSW, Australia

here's the pics

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: was disconnected
DSC00218 (Small).JPG
DSC00218 (Small).JPG [ 44.21 KiB | Viewed 13 times ]
File comment: looks like a hose could attatch
DSC00217 (Small).JPG
DSC00217 (Small).JPG [ 49.42 KiB | Viewed 15 times ]

 

_________________

at the bottom of the chain

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 20

Joined: 27th May 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

isnt that pipe part of air con?

i dont think anything attaches to it apart from a cap.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

that is a aircon pipe, you can see it goes straight to the TX valve. I'd say one of the little motors is shagged, its not likley to be a vacume leak becuase if it was you would hear a massive hissing sound coming from your engine bay

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 11:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
that is a aircon pipe, you can see it goes straight to the TX valve. I'd say one of the little motors is shagged, its not likley to be a vacume leak becuase if it was you would hear a massive hissing sound coming from your engine bay


You will not hear a hissing sound, coz cruise can only be activated from 50km/h onwards, so you'd definately not hear that, but the amount of vacuum created is very minimal, so even one hose unplugged would render it innoperable.


And those hoses are not cruise hoses, for aircon controls. The hose is suppose to be coming from a small pump just behind it, but prob about two or three times thicker in diameter, and black too. Try and trace it from your brake pedal, up through firewall which joins into a t-piece. the other end goes into the bellows (baloony thing) wich pulls second throttle cable.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Sorry to hijack slightly, but I'd like to describe my cruice problem too.

My cruise light comes up, as it does for this fellow. But when I go to press the ACCEL (+) button all I get is this clearly audible click noise from where the cruise module sits in the bay.

I'm actually able to hear it while on the road, with the radio turned down and the air con not blasting. Click, whenever I press that button.

What's the go there?

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Till_Lind wrote:
Sorry to hijack slightly, but I'd like to describe my cruice problem too.

My cruise light comes up, as it does for this fellow. But when I go to press the ACCEL (+) button all I get is this clearly audible click noise from where the cruise module sits in the bay.

I'm actually able to hear it while on the road, with the radio turned down and the air con not blasting. Click, whenever I press that button.

What's the go there?


Check the cable to the TB. That is probably screwed my friend.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Till_Lind wrote:
Sorry to hijack slightly, but I'd like to describe my cruice problem too.

My cruise light comes up, as it does for this fellow. But when I go to press the ACCEL (+) button all I get is this clearly audible click noise from where the cruise module sits in the bay.

I'm actually able to hear it while on the road, with the radio turned down and the air con not blasting. Click, whenever I press that button.

What's the go there?


Check the cable to the TB. That is probably screwed my friend.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The what in the hey now? Sorry mate, can you be more specific?

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Till_Lind wrote:
The what in the hey now? Sorry mate, can you be more specific?


think he means check the connection of the cruise cable to the throttle body, or just follow the cable coming from the Cruise Control unit to see if its broken or loose in any way

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:56 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 68

Joined: 11th Feb 2005

Location: St Leonards
NSW, Australia

ok i'll check the other one when it stops raining... speaking of which that connection in the pic seemed to blow the fuse on the windscreen wipers when i connected it... of course it happens when it rains and i need to get to work! does any1 know what happened? cause i dont..

 

_________________

at the bottom of the chain

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names