Fordmods Logo

Noob intake question 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 42

Joined: 14th May 2012

Ride: BA XR6 mk2

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yes, I'm a noob when it comes to modifying cars. -_-. I have a growler intake system and am attempting to custom make pipes from said growler to the Throttle Body. Thanks to the last question I asked, I know how to attach my pipes to the Throttle Body...but how do I attach my pipes to the Growler? The hole and the pipe are the same size, 76mm, and the only pod adapters I can find are made of metal, which I can't exactly fasten on with a clamp >.< could I use a silicone size reducer or something along those lines, or is there a particular way of doing this that I'm not getting? lol

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

how about a photo of what you have mounted in the engine bay currently?

I used a stainless exhaust section as a size adaptor for my intake system...

Image

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 42

Joined: 14th May 2012

Ride: BA XR6 mk2

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

or even something like this maybe?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/76mm-3-METAL ... 27bec8d2ef
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:32 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 42

Joined: 14th May 2012

Ride: BA XR6 mk2

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

[quote="TimmyA"]how about a photo of what you have mounted in the engine bay currently?

I don't currently have anything onto the engine yet, still waiting on a silicone bit the shop didn't have. (or did you mean the standard piping, not my custom job?) Plus I can't seem to up load anything to here, never lets me for unknown reasons :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

make sure the jpeg is under half a mb... if it isn't then resize or do what I do and upload high res to photobucket and then use img code to put the photo in the thread...

I can't help you then because your description isn't painting a clear enough picture in my mind to be able to help you out... You haven't listed how far apart they are or if the overlap and what they're made out of and if there is any bands fitted to anything... Not enough info IMO...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 42

Joined: 14th May 2012

Ride: BA XR6 mk2

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ok, so everything is within reach of being able to connect s**t up, but the hole in my airbox is EXACTLY the same size as my piping, so obviously they don't sit inside one another..meaning I can't connect them. That's my question, how do I connect two pipes up that are the same size as one another? Sorry mate, could've worded it better >.< If I could be bothered getting off my couch I'd take the pic, but right now.. lol. If, at the end of the day, no matter my descriptions, no one can help me then yeah I'll get up and take the picture haha.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Why not get something thats silicon and about 4" long and slide over both of them so they but up inside the tube... And then get a couple of big-ish band clamps and secure it up? Similar to what you had to do at the throttle body end I'm guessing?

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Noob intake question
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 42

Joined: 14th May 2012

Ride: BA XR6 mk2

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

for the throttle body I've gotten a 83mm to 76mm 90 degree reducer, which goes on pretty easy and once tightened it fitted pretty well! But I get what you mean and yeah, don't know why I didn't think of that...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names