Fordmods Logo

oil pressure switches, how much oil can they leak... 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: oil pressure switches, how much oil can they leak...
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

just wondering how much oil the pressure switch can leak.

I've just looked outside and realised theres a nice sized patch of motor oil under my car, its dripping off the front swaybar.

Further inspection reveals that theirs a bit of oil around the pressure switch, and a fair buildup underneath around the engine mount (passenger side)

Just wondering if the switches can leak that much? I cant think of it coming from anywhere else. I've checked all round ther rocker cover, sump plug, oil filter, etc. Giving me (and my old man) the s**t!

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

They can leak heaps when the car is running and just after the engine is turned off. Not hard to change, get a new one from Supercheap or repco. Take out the airbosx and using a 25mm tube spanner you will be able to get the old one out with a little effort. Then just a matter of screwing the new one in, do not over tighten.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

They can piss a lot of oil in a very short time, i'd be fixing it quickly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 270

Joined: 11th Mar 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef sedan

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

mine was leaking a drop hear & there ,then spat out 3liters of oil in a 5k drive ..
lukily i needed to get a new one for the full gauge dash i just put in. .

with the right tool ,easy to change ..


dave

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

sweet, thanks for the quick replys fellas.

i tried to tighten it before, but quickly realised i needed a 1" tube socket. Regular 1" just dont cut it.

weekend job for sure.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 43

Joined: 24th Apr 2006

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

you will probably find that you will need a 27mm socket. and the easiest way i have found at work to change them with out using a hoist is to remove the snorkle and the serpentine belt and you can get straight at it on the EF's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I've got the proper socket somewhere for it, and trust me you'll need one, they crack easily if it's the sender to suit the guage?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

its the stock GLi sender, 1" socket fit it, but ill be putting the XR/Fairmont spec sender in its place so my oil pressure gauge actually works, ill check with the bloke from the auto shop on tube socket size, ill need to buy one anyhow.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1085

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BF XR Turbo

Location: Castle Hill
NSW, Australia

i had one fall apart once and it emptied all the oil out of the motor in a matter of minutes. remember theres oil pressure behind there. fix it asap.



-mitch

 

_________________

BF XR6T 6spd Auto. 60lb injectors, Hybrid Cooler, Custom Piping, Custom Surge Tank, Actuator.

12.3 @ 114

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Go buy a set of stubbie spanners from AutoBarn - I have a 1" OE/Ring spanner thats about 15cm total length, and fits in there perfectly.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 3:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

EBGizmo wrote:
Go buy a set of stubbie spanners from AutoBarn - I have a 1" OE/Ring spanner thats about 15cm total length, and fits in there perfectly.


now thats a f**k good idea.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 3:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Complete set cost me $50 a few years ago, 10-18mm (no sizes missing in between), and imperial. Best tools I ever bought.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

From memory it was bigger than 1 inch to do the guage switch, it's been a while but i'll check my socket collection tomorrow.
I had 2 basic oil pressure switch sockets, a std and deep and they wouldn't do the job, a std is normally 15/16 from memory.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

that'd be good walker, ill need to buy the socket i know that, so knowing the exact size would be brilliant, save buying s**t i dont need for now!

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Correct Deep Impact socket is 1+1/16th for the variable sender unit.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Last edited by Krytox on Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names