Fordmods Logo

Putting a ef engine into a ea! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Putting a ef engine into a ea!
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:46 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 145

Joined: 18th May 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey guys,

as title says, i want all the info i can get about swapping a ef motor and gearbox into a ea fairmont. i have access of all the parts, so no worrys there!

anything in particular i need to worry about?

and whats with people complaining about the coils? is there something majorly wrong with having them? as i will be running a ef ecu.

thanx

lynx

 

_________________

1989 Fairmont Ghia
3.9L
5 Spd Manual
2.77 LSD
2.5" Mercury Sports exhaust
Extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

you need to either swap timing cases or you just grind off the crank position marker and tap one hole

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

if you have all the bits including wireing just swap it all over,,,the wireing will be a b**ch as it's a long process,,but you should enjoy the benifits...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 7:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 17

Joined: 6th Jan 2007

Ride: EB Series II

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

naughtyfalcon wrote:
if you have all the bits including wireing just swap it all over,,,the wireing will be a b**ch as it's a long process,,but you should enjoy the benifits...


HI i went to my local wrecker today asked him the question on what i need to have to change eng and gearbox in a ea from ef.His reply was you need with engine is ecu,wireing loom from ef radiator due to ea/eb have bigger hose fittings and ef thermo fans ect so i agree with nayghtyfalcon if you have all parts it will just take a bit of time and proberly a few coldies chers hope to hear it went well
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:28 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 145

Joined: 18th May 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

yeah its all hush hush over here, not posted on any of the wa forums. but ill keep you guys up to date with it. be putting the ghia in the shed for a few months for the heart transplant. ill post pics when i can.

 

_________________

1989 Fairmont Ghia
3.9L
5 Spd Manual
2.77 LSD
2.5" Mercury Sports exhaust
Extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:25 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 330

Joined: 26th Apr 2006

Location: rockingham
WA, Australia

Dude, you need a hand?... i wanna help with this. you need to see 66coupe on PES for a smartlock over ride aswell if you dont have smartlock.
also mite be just as easy to take an el ecu and put a dizzy in the motor, really easy, pretty sure only 1 bar has to be removed.
just make sure on the new motor you take the top end off and clean it all up clean all the rocker gear, make sure valve seats are good, head is goot etc coz you dont wanna be ripping the head off later as its a b**ch to do with the bbm, trust me.
speak on msn later on dude :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 90

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: BA/G ute, EB XR6,

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

u still going ahead with this i have a feelling its gonna be a massive job
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 242

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Ride: falcon eb

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

not that big of juob just time intensive

did a 5sp conversion on a eb 6 months ago now decided to drop a el in . went straight in but had a lil prob wiht a bent zorst valve which stopped her from running good. but getting fix at the moment.

should be on the road next week.

just use ur eb mounts too
u can use the ea radiator just make sure u clamp the hose on nice and tight.
prob end up using ur ea wireing loom as the plugs r diff .

other then that pretty straight forward. search and u shal find lots of post. and if u have ne trubs along the way just post pics up and every 1 will pitch in with surgestions


good luck with it man
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 264

Joined: 5th Jan 2007

Ride: E-Hybrid Falcon

Location: nowra, nsw
NSW, Australia

it's a bit of a luck of the draw thing with the radiator hoses, i bought an ea radiator hose & it was the same as an el, wouldn't fit.... at first..... i made it fit but & it's 20,000k's strong.

 

_________________

crow cam,cai,exaust,bbm,190 reg & el injectors,xr6 interior,guages,white cluster,pioneer/mtx stereo,big boot install w.i.p, 17"rims,koni/pedders shocks&springs with nolathane re-bush,ssv kit,stainless inserts,clear lights,t5 & short shifter,chardonay/pearl paint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi
when i put the el radiator in my ea i cheated and used a 2" long piece of a el hose on the bottom and used a little lube and slid the ea one over the top did the clamp up nice and tight its been about 12 months and its still as good as the day i put it on...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:12 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 145

Joined: 18th May 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey guys, just a few quick Q's,

with wiring it up, is there a seperate part of the loom that runs into the bay, an another into the dash?

what problems might occur with the dash being an ea ghia dash?

Smartlock, i know this going to be a pain in the a**, i need tobypass it, but not able to afford the bypass module, any alternatives?

The 4 speeds from eb onwards all run from the ecu dont they?

thanks

lynx

 

_________________

1989 Fairmont Ghia
3.9L
5 Spd Manual
2.77 LSD
2.5" Mercury Sports exhaust
Extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

the only time you need to bypass smart lock is when useing a smartlock ecu,,which ecu will you be useing

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 90

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: BA/G ute, EB XR6,

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

wouldnt he need the ef as it has coils not a dizzy
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

you can use a distributor in place of the coils,,the hole is there..so in a word not really.

you can run a transmision from an el in a ea useing the trans control already there as well.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:58 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 90

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: BA/G ute, EB XR6,

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

im pretty sure he wants run the ef ecu so can have the coils
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names