Fordmods Logo

Quick q on EA-gearbox 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Quick q on EA-gearbox
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:29 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 4

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EA-machine!!!

Location: ask me
NSW, Australia

Does anyone know how i can hold out each of the three gears in my 3 spd auto so they can change at 4400rpm instead of 3200 rmp without holding the gears out manually. The car has heeps of potential at the higher revs.

Cheers

 

_________________

EA 3.9 multipoint- bosch super four spark plugs and leads. KnN air filter, heavily customised air intake, 2.5 inch exhaust + whistle. absolute commowhore eater.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick q on EA-gearbox
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 698

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon Panelvan

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

CraZy EA wrote:
Does anyone know how i can hold out each of the three gears in my 3 spd auto so they can change at 4400rpm instead of 3200 rmp without holding the gears out manually. The car has heeps of potential at the higher revs.

Cheers


hold your foot to the floor? get an ECU from an ex cop car ?. ... or just change it to a manual?? , those are my ideas :wink:

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 3:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 962

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF waggin - gli/XR/ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Why wouldn't you hold them out manually?

 

_________________

Red goes faster, and chicks drive better

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick q on EA-gearbox
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

XGPANELVAN wrote:
CraZy EA wrote:
Does anyone know how i can hold out each of the three gears in my 3 spd auto so they can change at 4400rpm instead of 3200 rmp without holding the gears out manually. The car has heeps of potential at the higher revs.

Cheers


hold your foot to the floor? get an ECU from an ex cop car ?. ... or just change it to a manual?? , those are my ideas :wink:


3 speed auto's are manually controlled internally, all of the above wont do anything to help nothing.

You will have to get it rebuilt for what you want, you can try adjust the kickdown cable to be tighter, down side is it will kick down gears at slight throttle, upside is potential to hold gears longer, check your accelerator cable is also reaching WOT (Wide Open Throttle)

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names