Fordmods Logo

rough/lumpy idle? PROBLEM FOUND! 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: rough/lumpy idle? PROBLEM FOUND!
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

hey guys
ive got a prob with my idle as the title suggests it lumpy or rough, feels like there is a miss but it is only when it idles and there is no miss under load so i am discounting that its leads and plugs, and also they have just been changed so it shouldnt be them

wat other things could it be?
could it be a simple as the isc being dirty?

its not surging nor hunting for idle, its just rough, only started playing up on the way home from the bathurst cruise, and i have no idea why it started half way home!

any help is greatly appreciated!

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by Pulco on Mon May 23, 2005 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1954

Joined: 13th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: eb falcon s series 2

Location: on welfare
NSW, Australia

could be ur extracots have finally settled???

have u got stock cam?

 

_________________

‮‮

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:26 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 98

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: 1996 DF LTD

Location: Country
WA, Australia

Could it be dirty injectors?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 379

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Meekathara
WA, Australia

I got the same thing. I have changed plugs, leads, ignitor unit thing, changed inlet manifold gasket, replaced rubbers on injectors - cost lots of time and effort.
Others have suggested it might be the MAP sensor. Have not tested this yet but i might go to ford and get them to put it on their machine and tell me.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

yea cam is stock? how could that effect it?

i was thinking dirty injectors too, i have never cleaned them so i mite pull them out of just run a thing of injector cleaner through

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

MO wrote:
I got the same thing. I have changed plugs, leads, ignitor unit thing, changed inlet manifold gasket, replaced rubbers on injectors - cost lots of time and effort.
Others have suggested it might be the MAP sensor. Have not tested this yet but i might go to ford and get them to put it on their machine and tell me.


i tested the map sensor on my old mans fairmont and it worked properly so i dont know

its jsut really annoying sittin at the lights vibrating

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

Pulco wrote:
yea cam is stock? how could that effect it?


aftermarket cams often may = s**t idle. my stage 2 crow cam is pretty bad on the 'ol idle quality - tickford ECU & chiptorque chip are on the way to sort this problem! :)

maybe fuel filter? slightly blocked?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:32 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 98

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: 1996 DF LTD

Location: Country
WA, Australia

Pulco wrote:
yea cam is stock? how could that effect it?

i was thinking dirty injectors too, i have never cleaned them so i mite pull them out of just run a thing of injector cleaner through


Mate of mine told me that at the workshop he once worked for, they woud empty the fuel tank and put in a bottle of injector cleaner and about 10l of fuel, then just drive it around for a while until it cured itself...might be worth a try?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:33 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 379

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Meekathara
WA, Australia

Would a slightly blocked fuel filter only effect idle? Would not this effect the whole rev range? Its real annoying because the car runs perfectly other than at idle and occasionally when i am gearing down i can hear it miss a bit. Fuel filter would be the next thing i change - not too pricey i think.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

if you want a decent engine/injector/top end cleaner, grab a tin of the *cringe* holden engine cleaner - very good stuff - about $15 a tin i believe...

edit: i think the fuel filters are ~ the $20 mark - i'll be doing mine soon too for the same reason :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

uglybob wrote:
if you want a decent engine/injector/top end cleaner, grab a tin of the *cringe* holden engine cleaner - very good stuff - about $15 a tin i believe...

edit: i think the fuel filters are ~ the $20 mark - i'll be doing mine soon too for the same reason :wink:


the engine cleaner comes from holden? i will have a look this week at gettin some and try it

also i have to put some fuel in the car soon so i will try wynns f**k injector cleaner too

if that doesnt cure it i will check fuel filter, never changed it so, where is it to change? fuel tank? cause i cant remember seein it in the engine bay

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 1:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 106

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Falcon XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

TPS (Trottle Positioning Sensor) - CLEAN IT! it sits on the side of the trottle body. That was my problem - I had a build up of black stuff inside.

Good Luck!

 

_________________

It was really good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 6:38 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 30

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: EF fairmont

Location: Dayboro
QLD, Australia

this may seem really stupid but i had the same problem did leads,sparky's,fuel filter,injector cleaner, and reset the ecu and idle. then someone on the forum said check brake light switch. my brake lights were not working so replaced that and it idles fine. really weird but true. :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

remove the intake pipe from the trottle body then spray directly inside the small hole just above the butterfly & open up the trottle abit and spray a fare amount in there as well. {trottle body & carby cleaner spray}.

pour 1 bottles of injector cleaner between every 2 to 3 fill up's. It worked for me! 8-)

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 6:21 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

In my case, my coil pack was intermittanty dropping spark to cylinder 3 and hense idle was poor.
Strangly enough, it seemed to come good once the revs increased.

Simplest procedure to test your leads and coil pack is:

1. pull of one lead off a spark plug,
2. connect this lead to a spare spark plug with the gap set to 6mm,
3. earth this plug,
4. Start you engine and check for a strong healthy spark,
5. switch off you engine, go to the next lead and start your engine,
6. do each other lead in turn.

If the above test doesn't show any problems, you can try removing one lead at a time from each spark plug with engine running. If RPM doesn't drop, then that plug is stuffed. Note that this may cause high induced voltage spikes in your electrics and i think ford does not recomend this (others on the forum can make comment if this test is considered unsafe for the car). Oh, and if you don't use insulated lead pullers, you may get a big zap :)

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names