Fordmods Logo

Service tips ?? 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Service tips ??
Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

NSW, Australia

Ok so i know im going to ask the biggest noob questions but bare with me as im new to this stuff and quickly trying to learn ! thanks

Just for some starter info im driving An 02 Ba XR6 :)

Not to long ago i changed my O2 sensor and when i took it out it was black and bent and damaged like crazy so i replaced that. It helped my fuel economy a fair bit after that

than a dodgy mechanic told me to replace my TB because of a few issues! .. that didnt solve anything but my fuel was SOOO much better ! i started getting like 450 kms per tank apposed to 250.!

after that came a replacement on a coil pack (this solved my issues)

i Than decided to add a FPV F6 air box and K&N air filter but my fuel started dropping like crazy again !

so now im thinking ill do a service and hopefully see some improvement !

ok so now for the noob questions to roll in !

1. Do i need to change and replace my coil packs and do different Brands If any make a difference ? if so what will be the difference in them ?

2.Same goes to spark plugs (i know i need to change these and why though )

3.Should i replace my fuel and oil filter and again does brand change anything ? and what difference would i notice

4.Exactly what oil should i be using ? i was told that since my car had 300000 + Ks that i should be using a thicker oil ? is this true ? if not what oil do i need to put in as iv got no idea with that ?

5.in a service do i need to change my break and power steering fluid also ? or leave them ?

6.Since ill have everything off how would i go about cleaning my Throttle body as apparently this could help