Fordmods Logo

slow idle return 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: slow idle return
Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:55 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 56

Joined: 14th Nov 2005

Ride: ef fairmont, ba futura

Location: GERALDTON
WA, Australia

:? help.. is this normal :?
as i rev the engine all is good, but when i let it return to idle it seem as if it is taking to long (returns really slowly 4-5 seconds maybe) how do i fix this??? :(

 

_________________

FORD =
Fun On Rainy Days

got 4g to spend on mods. but dont know were to start.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:18 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mostly normal...

when i had the auto it wouldnt idle with the cam so i put a solid gasket in the idle control motor and set the throttle with the adjust screw. that made it return to idle much faster.

though you might want to start by cleaning the idle motor, ontop of the throttle body.

shouldnt really worry you as you shouldnt free-rev a motor anyway.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 56

Joined: 14th Nov 2005

Ride: ef fairmont, ba futura

Location: GERALDTON
WA, Australia

only free rev it once to hear the note of my exaust after change. slow idle return has had me concerned for a while though, as i dont know if this uses more fuel then it should. just wanted to no if it was normal that all. thanks for the info on the idle control solinoid ( should have thought of that myself as it has giving me grief before on a different car).

 

_________________

FORD =
Fun On Rainy Days

got 4g to spend on mods. but dont know were to start.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yea mine does the same, ive unplugged my ISC and now it drops back to idle real quick, normal in my eye.

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 283

Joined: 24th Aug 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XG Ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

rushed wrote:
mostly normal...

shouldnt really worry you as you shouldnt free-rev a motor anyway.


Hahaha yea this is true but we all do it. Lets face it, it sunds too damn good!

 

_________________

Its On Like Donky Kong!
Dont take life too seriously, coz ur not goana make it out of it alive!
Pain Is Tempory, Glory Is Forever.
Who Dares Wins.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

check for vac leaks and take the isc off and spray the crap out of it with carby clean.

grab a manual and follow the instructions to reset the base idle as well

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2256

Joined: 5th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5 Star Boxcar

Location: blu mtns
NSW, Australia

This happens to my car now alot. Only happened when I went from the Megasquirt back to the stock ecu during winter because I was impatient (hated waiting a few mins for it to warm up). Might plug the MS back in now that it is warmer.

 

_________________

Kezz's 5sp Box Car ---> RPD enhanced with a bunch of other stuff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: idle speed
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 67

Posts: 25

Joined: 23rd Sep 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Kingaroy
QLD, Australia

my ef was the same with eratic idiling changed map sensor fixed the problem

 

_________________

Try me I know it!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:56 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 56

Joined: 14th Nov 2005

Ride: ef fairmont, ba futura

Location: GERALDTON
WA, Australia

not the map sensor as that is a new componet allready. tried what grechie suggested and unpluged the isc.
now the idel behaves the way i want.

 

_________________

FORD =
Fun On Rainy Days

got 4g to spend on mods. but dont know were to start.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names