Fordmods Logo

speed limiters 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 46 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 940

Joined: 10th Sep 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

soulfire wrote:
Shouldn't do; has the xr6 running ghia :p (get it, gear? :p)


But remember that even the auto XRs are speed limited even though they have xr running gear ;) So i doubt they would speed limit auto XRs and not the Tickford Ghias / Gears (Very clever soulfire :P)

 

_________________

5spd Heritage Green EL XR6. Wheels by ROH. Stereo by Clarion. Exhaust by Pacemaker & Lukey. Suspension by Whiteline, Durashock and K-Mac.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I know of an EA that did 242km/h.. sustained 190+ for over half an hour with no issues of any kind. Did they have those crappy tailshafts that you're refering to?
As for the EL.. mine's not speed limited and it drives comfortably at around 175 (while overtaking 38m long road trains).. I didn't wanna go faster cos of the rumours of tailshafts failing, but I'll get an alloy tailshaft eventually. I HATE being on the wrong side of the road for more than a few seconds.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

tailshafts don't magically disintergrate every time @ higher speeds - the possibility of them doing so is higher, hence why its a good idea not to test the theory!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

uglybob wrote:
tailshafts don't magically disintergrate every time @ higher speeds - the possibility of them doing so is higher, hence why its a good idea not to test the theory!


Yeah... guess I'm a lucky bastard. The EA's tailshaft was 330000km old. By the way you wouldn't happen to have an alloy tailshaft lying around?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

not on me just now no! :lol:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 509

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: '05 5.4L BA MK2 XT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Something this thread just made me realise, my stock EA fairmont ghia (with the same exhaust my EL now wears) hit 220, the digital speedo having stopped at 199 since there were no more characters :).
2 Things I hadnt thought of / didnt realise at the time:
1) the tailshaft coulda snapped and I would have killed myself...
2) the EA didnt have a speed limiter :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ace wrote:
Something this thread just made me realise, my stock EA fairmont ghia (with the same exhaust my EL now wears) hit 220, the digital speedo having stopped at 199 since there were no more characters :).
2 Things I hadnt thought of / didnt realise at the time:
1) the tailshaft coulda snapped and I would have killed myself...
2) the EA didnt have a speed limiter :D


Yeah those are the same things I realised hahaha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What about legitimate uses for removing the speed limiter.. like going on the dyno for tuning? I've heard of ppl on here complaining that they can't get proper stats because the car is speed limited.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 724

Joined: 11th Nov 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

auto el mont ghias do have speedlimiters they r bloody annoying sounds like your motors gonna blow up when u hit it..................
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:29 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Earlier E series had no speed limiters, and as mentioned above, EF/EL Ghias did.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

AdamN wrote:
What about legitimate uses for removing the speed limiter.. like going on the dyno for tuning? I've heard of ppl on here complaining that they can't get proper stats because the car is speed limited.


Or just do dyno runs in a lower gear like most tuners do.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: xr8 ed
Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 4th Mar 2006

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

u cut two resistors in the ecu one is 45.9 ohms and the 5.5k one but not a good idea :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: xr8 ed
Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 4th Mar 2006

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

u cut two resistors in the ecu one is 45.9 ohms and the 5.5k one but not a good idea :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: xr8 ed
Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

xr8carman wrote:
u cut two resistors in the ecu one is 45.9 ohms and the 5.5k one but not a good idea :shock:


explain
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 12:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Dude, the thing closest that I can think of is C86 which is a 0.01uF cap on the VSS.Diff + line. This is just a decoupling capacitor...

After that both wires from the sensor (which the ECU needs), then both the (-) and (+) of the sensor run into an opamp, on pin 4 and 7, which then sends the ECU its signal opamp pin 3 to 8061 on pin 52.

How cutting any resistor would help I really don't see...But Id like for you to prove me wrong, please explain.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names