STALLIES!!! 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post subject: STALLIES!!!
Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:44 pm 
Tyre Shredder

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

QLD, Australia

guys an u plz give me a run down on wat they are and wat the do and how they do it, yeh ive done a search found jack s**t and yes im a total NOOB at this type of thing all help appreciated. im looking at getting a cam package from rpd was gona get the rspec 3 (or old stage 2 ) but ive been told they lack a bit down low so im keen on the rspec 4 will i need any engine upgrades to run the spec 4. yeh back to the stallies jsut wantin to no about them looking in to getting one when i get the cam do u help autos/manual i need all the help i can get cheers

Piss On Holden!!!!
EF Fairmont argon silver, ultralows,koni adjustables,pioneer stereo, 19 inch vault kaotiks,

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: Falcon

SA, Australia

the stallie (or torque converter) is like the clutch in a manual gearbox. It slips at very low speeds and starts to grip when the rpm reaches a certain rpm. They work by forcing the gearbox fluid into veins - as it spins faster the fluid is pushed harder into them and its the force of the fluid that drives the car. Hi-stall's will have different shaped veins that take more rpm to force the fluid hard enough to turn the wheels so the engine has more slip (kind of like letting the clutch out at higher rpm in a manual box).

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:54 pm 
Tyre Shredder

QLD, Australia

ahhh i c says the blind man. cheers dude how does this effect daily driving, will it idle ok at the light or wil i b sittind at a red doin 2500/3000 rpm like when do they kick in etc

Piss On Holden!!!!
EF Fairmont argon silver, ultralows,koni adjustables,pioneer stereo, 19 inch vault kaotiks,

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways

SA, Australia

nope, remember its like a clutch