Fordmods Logo

Tacho needle going stupid when car is running 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Tacho needle going stupid when car is running
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:29 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 135

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BA XT

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

Hey Guys

My Tacho meter is going stupid when the car is going
When im driving around town it cant make up its mind where to sit, like it flick s up then down then back up

Today when i drove to work sitting on the cruiser at 110 it showed zero

i think theres a loost wire somewhere but i dont know where to look on the engine or wherever it may be
Is someone able to direct me to where i might find it?!

94 Falcon EF

P.S The car runs absolutly fine,its just that now i know the tacho is playing up i cant keep my eye of it!

 

_________________

Ford Falcon BA XT 2003, Stock Engine, Factory Fitted LPG, Monroe GT Sports Shockers, King Coil Springs, Advanti Shine 19" 8x5 Rims, 2 1/2" Exhaust,DNA Fascia, Pioneer DEH-1350MPG Head Unit, Powervox 500watt 4 Channel Amp, Aerpro Hi/Lo Audio level converter, Pioneer 10" Sub Woofer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:44 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

my thinking is your diagnoisis is correct a loos wire is the fault :)

pull the cluster out and have a look?

or a wiring diag might help

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:44 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Your tacho is controlled by the ECU, since you have a EDIS setup.. I would say check your loom, but if you haven't touched anything then it should be fine.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:01 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 135

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BA XT

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

I need better information what loom am i looking for and where can i find it?

Is it on the Tranny or the Engine, inside the car?

 

_________________

Ford Falcon BA XT 2003, Stock Engine, Factory Fitted LPG, Monroe GT Sports Shockers, King Coil Springs, Advanti Shine 19" 8x5 Rims, 2 1/2" Exhaust,DNA Fascia, Pioneer DEH-1350MPG Head Unit, Powervox 500watt 4 Channel Amp, Aerpro Hi/Lo Audio level converter, Pioneer 10" Sub Woofer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:26 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The ECU is behind the kick panel on the passenger side (interior), the loom goes from there, and runs up behind the dash into the instrument cluster.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I would just run a new wire from the original pickup, through the firewall and then use the pinout diagram for the cluster, cut the tacho feed wire and soler your new wire to it on the cluster side. This saves you checking everywhere for a fault and it wont have a negative effect on your ECU.
however if you car is a GLi then someone would have previously installed the sports cluster and probably did a dodgy job soldering/wrapping/splicing ect so just pull out the cluster and fix it.

Pinout diagrams can be found in the tech docs section
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

If when you painted your cluster you had to pull it out then you probably disrupted the wires and that could be the solution to your problems
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:41 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 135

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BA XT

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

i was actually thinkin that blu falc

i will have a look tnight?

 

_________________

Ford Falcon BA XT 2003, Stock Engine, Factory Fitted LPG, Monroe GT Sports Shockers, King Coil Springs, Advanti Shine 19" 8x5 Rims, 2 1/2" Exhaust,DNA Fascia, Pioneer DEH-1350MPG Head Unit, Powervox 500watt 4 Channel Amp, Aerpro Hi/Lo Audio level converter, Pioneer 10" Sub Woofer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 3:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 135

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BA XT

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

Well had a look pulled the dash apart and wriggled the wiring loom that goes into the instrument panel

Went on and off so its a faulty wire like you thought

Thanx everyone for the help

Regards

 

_________________

Ford Falcon BA XT 2003, Stock Engine, Factory Fitted LPG, Monroe GT Sports Shockers, King Coil Springs, Advanti Shine 19" 8x5 Rims, 2 1/2" Exhaust,DNA Fascia, Pioneer DEH-1350MPG Head Unit, Powervox 500watt 4 Channel Amp, Aerpro Hi/Lo Audio level converter, Pioneer 10" Sub Woofer

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names