Fordmods Logo

Temp sensor on AU head. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Hi peeps.
The electrical temp sensor on the back of an AU head. What does it actually do?
Basically I pulled the motor out of the wags to find the sensor on it busted and the one on my replacement motor is busted from hitting the firewall as the motor come out.
Is it really required?

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:10 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

That actually measures you temp. As you will see, there is no temp sensor in the thermostat housing like the EF/EL.

Placing the temp sensor in the hottest part of the head (6 pot) was to help eliminate head gasket issues along with the MLS Gasket.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

BA/BF use the same sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 673

Joined: 23rd Jul 2011

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: XG

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

if you dont have one your thermo fans wont come on causing your motor to over heat, unless you plan to use the e series one, which is on the thermostat housing.

 

_________________

XG Ute - 3 Seater - Auto - Dual Fuel

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Well that sucks.
More money to be spent on the piece of s**t.
Hopefully I can get to it to change it once the new motor is in. I don't want to break another one.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 6:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

not that it will make you feel any better about it matt but I believe that in addition to what has already been mentioned the sensor is drilled blind into the head so no coolant comes out when it's removed. This also overcomes the problem of the thermostat housing type not reading properly if there is air in the system. Cannot confirm though, never had mine out.

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 23

Posts: 461

Joined: 31st Mar 2013

Ride: 96 EL XR6

Location: Hervey Bay
QLD, Australia

I don't understand how you've broken two... When I dropped my au donk in it was nowhere near the firewall... But then again it was eng+box all in one with a fck load of angle haha. The rocker cover touched but that was it,

Just be cautious about it when your putting the engine in..


On another note, can I simply extend the wires from my EL sensor to the AU sensor in the head? No issues will occur?? It's there so I may as well use the "better" one, obviously I will need the AU plug (no issue)

 

_________________

EL XR6, T5 Speed - Full Factory Fitted Tickford Body Kit, AU Engine, Billet Camtech 845 Cam, J3 Chip, MLS Gasket, Intake, Extractors, High flow cat, 2 1/2in exhaust, K&N Air Filter, 3.45 LSD, - My Pride and Joy

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Temp sensor on AU head.
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Falcon96XR6 wrote:
I don't understand how you've broken two... When I dropped my au donk in it was nowhere near the firewall... But then again it was eng+box all in one with a fck load of angle haha. The rocker cover touched but that was it,

Just be cautious about it when your putting the engine in..


On another note, can I simply extend the wires from my EL sensor to the AU sensor in the head? No issues will occur?? It's there so I may as well use the "better" one, obviously I will need the AU plug (no issue)


I haven't broken 2.
I broke mine as I was lifting the motor out. I come straight up with no gearbox attached and fit the top of the firewall.
The replacement motor had its broken before I got it.
Yes they are tapped blind into the head.
I fitted the new one after I dropped the new motor in.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names