Fordmods Logo

Thing on top of the throttle body 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Thing on top of the throttle body
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 98

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Ride: Au Falcon with TE50 Bodykit

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi Guys

I was cleaning my throttle body the other day and noticed two allen key type screws holding this "thing" down onto of the throttle body. Asked my neighbour who works for ultratune if i could take it out and he told me i wouldnt know what to do if i did.

Just querious to know what it is and if i undo the allen key screw and take it off (It has a packing on the bottom between itseld and the throttle body,with a little black nob that can be turned on the side)

What is this thing, is there anything i need to know or be aware of when i take it out.

 

_________________

What do you call a holden with twin exhaust pipes?>>>>>>>> A WHEEL BARROW .....LOL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Idle speed controller.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

the little black knob is a breather cap.

oh, and dont take it off. Most of the things in the engine bay are there for a reason.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

you can take it off but dont expect the car to idle lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

i have put a switch on mine to turn it on and off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

danbode wrote:
i have put a switch on mine to turn it on and off

why? :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

danbode wrote:
i have put a switch on mine to turn it on and off

why? :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

cause as with most/ all E Sereis falcons i have had the rough idle . missing problem, so i did this so i could have the ISC switched on when starting the car when cold, and when the car heats up i then switch it off, it also helps with fuel econemy, if you do this you might have to turn your base idle up a bit as it idles a bit lower than normal when turned off with the wheel full locked and air con on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:59 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 350

Joined: 22nd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

How would I turn the base idle up on a EF Fairmont Ghia (parents car)?

 

_________________

EF Futura factory 5 spd
Pacemaker 4480 w/ Redback cat back 2 1/2
RPD Rspec4 cam with Ported Head
RPD Rocker Gear
RPD MS2 ECU

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 9:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

turning the base idle up to compensate is nullifying your reason for having a switch.

you'll still be useing the same amount of fuel.

silly really,turn idle control off then increase base idle to compensate.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:55 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 98

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Ride: Au Falcon with TE50 Bodykit

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi Guys

Thanks for the reply but what if i want to clean the idle control. Can i take it off then. What do i need to watch out for

 

_________________

What do you call a holden with twin exhaust pipes?>>>>>>>> A WHEEL BARROW .....LOL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

a little grub screw on the throttle body tighten that
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 98

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Ride: Au Falcon with TE50 Bodykit

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

So i need to tighten this grub screw after i take the idle controller off. Where abouts is this screw.

Soz to be a pain :oops:

 

_________________

What do you call a holden with twin exhaust pipes?>>>>>>>> A WHEEL BARROW .....LOL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

no don't touch the grub screw.
you only need to take it off, just don't tear the gasket underneath.
i cleaned mine out with spirits. it was black.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names