Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post subject: Tickford head upgrade!!
Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 12:07 am 
Stock as a Rock

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL2 xr8

VIC, Australia

G'day everyone,
This is my first post on the forum and I'm very new to all this so please don't bite my head off.
I am 20years old and have an 1996 efII fairmont which I got 2 years ago for $3900 and it was from an elderly owner and it was in fantastic condition. Over time i have done some mods, such as;
•extractors
•highflow cat
•2.5" exhaust
•modded air intake
•ba xr6 turbo snorkel
•lowered "sl" king springs
•el gt 17" wheels
•corner lights
And some other stuff as well to the interior and exterior.

It's probably been asked before but,
I want to install a tickford head to the fairmont, and I want to know if I do this do I have to change the;
*fuel reg to a 300kph
or
*ecu to a tickford
Or
*the diff 3.45
Etc, because in the past I installed a tickford ecu and 300 fuel reg and the car idled like crap when changing gears, and was squealing when I turned because it must have thought I had a 3.45 diff.

So is it possible to just change the head to a tickford without changing anything else??
Cheers- Callum

Post subject: Re: Tickford head upgrade!!
Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:11 am 
Stock as a Rock

VIC, Australia

S#%t sorry I should have mentioned at the start, the tickford head is reconditioned and was removed from a "Sportsman NC Fairlane", correct me if I'm wrong but they have 161kw.
Will this mean I still need to change the ecu/ j3 chip and 300 fuel reg??

Sorry about the annoying/ stupid questions I keep asking everyone!!
Cheers

Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:43 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

WA, Australia

Ef Nut wrote:
Sorry about the annoying/ stupid questions I keep asking everyone!!
Cheers

mate i thought your question was decent and fine.

now this is what a stupid question looks like ----> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=114335