Fordmods Logo

TPS 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: TPS
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys, ive herd many stories how if ur car is spluttering (like mine at high rpm) or if u got irratic acceleration, that its a TPS , i just found out were it is, on the side of the TB, i was wondeirng, how does that cause it to be faulty? please give me info on this little black thing, it has 2 screws holding it in yes? does it plug in electrically? how does that hold a important part in the acceleration ?


thanx

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

well it tell the ecu how what percentage on the throttle is open, if it doesnt know this the it wont know what load the engine is having and it can only guess how much fule to put in by the air flow. it is a very important input. all it is is a potentomiter, usually goes from 0v closed to around 5v 100% throttle. if its playing up usually pulling it apart and cleaning the contacts helps. but it might be fine could be some other sensor that is playing up ot air leak ect.
dont assume its the tps get faults read out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

with an auto, its even more important - i've screwed a few of mine, and it won't change out of gears, over-revs etc - not fun! :?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

fordgt290 wrote:
well it tell the ecu how what percentage on the throttle is open, if it doesnt know this the it wont know what load the engine is having and it can only guess how much fule to put in by the air flow. it is a very important input. all it is is a potentomiter, usually goes from 0v closed to around 5v 100% throttle. if its playing up usually pulling it apart and cleaning the contacts helps. but it might be fine could be some other sensor that is playing up ot air leak ect.
dont assume its the tps get faults read out.


Wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong.

The throttle position sensor has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with fuel calculations apart from accel/decel enrichments and open/closed loop.

The Ford system is a speed/density system, not an Aplha-n system. Speed/density uses manifold pressure and RPM to determine how much fuel to squirt into the engine.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names