Fordmods Logo

UNICHIP for XR6? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: UNICHIP for XR6?
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 231

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys.

I've just finished putting a brand new perfomance clutch and cam into my engine.
I've got a EF XR6, pacemaker extractors, modified exhaust, perfomance clutch, crow cam, AU Tickford Intake, etc.

I was looking at getting a UNICHIP or something similar?

Can anyone give me ideas/information on what'd be good for my car?
I'd appreciate it!

Thanks guys.

 

_________________

Image
*pacemaker extractors, crow cam, 19" typhoon rims, 2" exhaust, AU tickford intake, K&N Airfilter.

Working on my custom interior (nearly there!)
No Induction Yet, But It's Coming!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1442

Joined: 26th Apr 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 97 EL XR6

Power: 162 rwkw

Location: liverpool
NSW, Australia

stay away from unichip and chiptorque... i know from experience, and other peoples experiences... they are cheap, but you get what you pay for...

 

_________________

07 BF MKII XR6T
310rwkw @ 13psi - Tuned By CMS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 231

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks man!

what other mods does anyone recommend?
without getting a forced induction.

 

_________________

Image
*pacemaker extractors, crow cam, 19" typhoon rims, 2" exhaust, AU tickford intake, K&N Airfilter.

Working on my custom interior (nearly there!)
No Induction Yet, But It's Coming!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1087

Joined: 1st Sep 2007

Ride: '07 LT XR5

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

with regards to the clutch, have u re-inforced the firewall? if not you're gonna send a nice crack through it

 

_________________

So much RAM the motherboard twisted off the POST.

I lost 3 cylinders... but gained a turbo...
Proud owner of an '07 XR5Turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

FAST-XR wrote:
stay away from unichip and chiptorque... i know from experience, and other peoples experiences... they are cheap, but you get what you pay for...


thats s**t mate. I cant vouch for unichip, but ive had a custom tune done at Chiptorque headoffice at the Gold Coast and they do great work. You only had to drive my car before and after to see the improvement without even looking at a graph

Im guessing you had an "authorised dealer" tune yours, or for all you know they just gave you an "off the shelf program" without you knowing any better?

Theres plenty of boosted cars in a rough untuned state rocking up at ChipTorque and leaving very happy.

But all in all, their chip can only do so much, so obviously a stand alone ecu will be superior, but their good for what they are.....

Ive since sold my chip as i was planning on selling my car/returning to stock etc., but ive decided to keep it and would have no problem laying down another 900 bucks for the same service
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

FordFairmont wrote:
FAST-XR wrote:
stay away from unichip and chiptorque... i know from experience, and other peoples experiences... they are cheap, but you get what you pay for...


thats s**t mate. I cant vouch for unichip, but ive had a custom tune done at Chiptorque headoffice at the Gold Coast and they do great work. You only had to drive my car before and after to see the improvement without even looking at a graph

Im guessing you had an "authorised dealer" tune yours, or for all you know they just gave you an "off the shelf program" without you knowing any better?

Theres plenty of boosted cars in a rough untuned state rocking up at ChipTorque and leaving very happy.

But all in all, their chip can only do so much, so obviously a stand alone ecu will be superior, but their good for what they are.....

Ive since sold my chip as i was planning on selling my car/returning to stock etc., but ive decided to keep it and would have no problem laying down another 900 bucks for the same service



i would have to agree with vince on this one as i was there when he put his chiptorgue in and his car ran like sh*t took it out and his car ran good again.
then there's ford freak his car ran better with out the unichip and made more power and i have driven both cars with and with out chips.
i have yet to see anything good come from this chips i would rather spend a few hundred more and go full after market ecu then a chip.
as for blowers well thats another story.

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

and i ask again, who tuned them?..... were they even tuned?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 10826

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: BF MK11 XR 6 TURBO ZF 6spd

Power: 225 rwkw

Location: glenwood/sydney
NSW, Australia

FordFairmont wrote:
and i ask again, who tuned them?..... were they even tuned?
yes.. mine was tuned by Spiro at AUTOTECH granville sydney.. had to have it re-tuned every 3 months on average.. at a cost of $400... was a money pit... and my car seems just as fast without it now... and doesnt use any more fuel... idle quality is fine too... you'd be surprised how much the standard ecu's can handle...

 

_________________

Todd: Nurse, suction.
Nurse: The patient's not even here yet.
Todd: I know.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GQpRYRcAiA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

well said matty could've put it better myself..
the problem with chips is they don't hold there memory and have to be re-tuned every so offen

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:02 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 231

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks for the information and opinions guys!
it's helped out a lot.

i think i'll leave the chip idea out for now.

 

_________________

Image
*pacemaker extractors, crow cam, 19" typhoon rims, 2" exhaust, AU tickford intake, K&N Airfilter.

Working on my custom interior (nearly there!)
No Induction Yet, But It's Coming!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

chips arnt worth it unless your just doing minor work a small cam and exhaust stuff like that but your going huge cams head work the works then aftermarket computers are the go. haltec etc

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:50 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

wtf? how do chips not hold their memory? I would assume they are an eeprom type that is used to hold the fuel tables, etc. for the ecu to read while its all running? that makes no sense that you should have to go get them re-programmed every few months... either the chip is faulty or tune programmed in is no good... the stock chip doesnt lose its memory so why should an aftermarket unless its faulty?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

zxhoon wrote:
wtf? how do chips not hold their memory?


They dont lose thier memory, above quotes are just experiences with a bad tune, simple as that. To flat out and say they dont work goes against the good results others have had. but then again this is a UNICHIP thread so i have no idea how this actual chip works

I know the ChipTorque chip holds its tune, and also adapts just like the stock ecu does
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 455

Joined: 6th Feb 2005

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: NEW MACHINE 323i GOES HELL FAST

Power: 169 rwkw

Location: in the middle of peak hour traffic
SA, Australia

hey if your dyno guy is hopeless so is your chip and if they dont have the programs it a waste of money in the hands of pros these are awesome ,unichip are a piggy back system around $100.00 on ebay second hand BARGIN 4 a pprox 10% / 15 % rwkw gain :lol:

 

_________________

eb 4.0 falcon & f150 351 & caprice 5.0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1380

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FPV BF MKII F6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i have to agree with fordfairmont. chiptorque now have an ezyflash system just like the capaflash system for the b series.

very good results and mine is going in on monday on the gold coast to get the unit and 5 custom tunes done... although this is for a turbo forester. There is nothing better than the standard ecu for options as you still have cold start and knock sensor options which most aftermarket ecus dont have

the chip is only as good as the tuner and they do not lose tune over time.

 

_________________

OBS35N is gooonnnneeee.
Gone for good..... Damn fence posts!!!!!

OBS35N #2 (XXF6XX) just bought, bring it on

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names