Fordmods Logo

URGENT EA HELP NEEDED!!!! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: URGENT EA HELP NEEDED!!!!
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have a prob with my ea, no balls of the line and she takes a while to pick up and when she does it aint that great, its a mpi 6 with 170,000ks, im told a common prob is a worn accelerator cable so im not getting full throttle? is this s**t? is this a common problem? the motor runs well just no power, it also has the 3 speed auto which i know is i real slug but i dont think thats the prob, it just has no go
cheers guys

 

_________________

Succesful trades with bentles_eb, Pane, chunkz, xr8_dismantler, OBS35N, mrnasty, Steady ED, voxace, Mash85, ovo616, ef biff, lukey, dazza2924, Seannyb, gunit18, jkk, Tocchi,

Last edited by Felony on Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

nah is a common prob the car is well over 10 years old now, good chance that the cable needs replacing
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Anyone know a price of a new acceperator cable of the top off their head? Is it cheaper to go to ford or repco or what?
cheers

 

_________________

Succesful trades with bentles_eb, Pane, chunkz, xr8_dismantler, OBS35N, mrnasty, Steady ED, voxace, Mash85, ovo616, ef biff, lukey, dazza2924, Seannyb, gunit18, jkk, Tocchi,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Check the cable first befor you buy one mate, it may be ok and the motor just needs a good service. Change all the usual filters and fluids and electrics then see how it goes. Then cheack the cable for a break. It will be broken on the cables outer casing. Your prob using s**t of fuel too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah its using a bit of fuel, i have gievn it a oil and filter change, and put nothing but premium in it, it doesnt resist or piss and f@rt or jerk like a fuel blockage or something its all still even and smooth just no power, but i wil check the cable out
cheers

 

_________________

Succesful trades with bentles_eb, Pane, chunkz, xr8_dismantler, OBS35N, mrnasty, Steady ED, voxace, Mash85, ovo616, ef biff, lukey, dazza2924, Seannyb, gunit18, jkk, Tocchi,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 962

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF waggin - gli/XR/ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I have a similar problem in my ED - no guts off the start (difference is once the revs are up, it flies).

I've also been told accelerator cable.

 

_________________

Red goes faster, and chicks drive better

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 14

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 30th Anniversary Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My EA did the same thing
A mate sat in the car and pushed the accelerator to the floor while I checked if the throttle opened fully. It didn't.
Then he says, 'Hang on a minute' and straightened up the mat that was bunched up under the pedal.
Instant power! Despite me feeling a bit stupid.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:16 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 90

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II S-Pac

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Had the same problem in my EA (90 mdl S-PAC, MPFI)

Replaced the throttle cable and was like new. From memory i think the cable was about $40...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

there is generally room for adjustment on throttle cables, Id look at that before splashing out on a new one, however it will be a heaps smother action with a new cable

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

if you decide to replace the cable go to ford for a genuine one dont put an inferior one on they dont last. best to buy the right thing first time then stuff around with a non-genuine one and it may even be cheaper from ford.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:50 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

If changing the accelerator cable still doesn't fix your problem, try your universal joints maybe.
Just last week, my ea could barely get up to 80km/h, and there was a noticeable vibration in the car. Checked unis and they were screwed.
The rear (connect to diff) had 1 cap that had all the needle bearings still in place, the other three fell out :shock: .

But it sounds like accelerator cable.

 

_________________

1989 EA Falcon MPI (Converted! YAY!)
2.5" Sports System, Lowered, Thermofans, XG Snorkel
Result: 108.4rkw (145hp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

jees, i just checked my accelerator cable and it has a crack in the casing however i got my nan ( lol ) to sit in the car and give it full throttle and its opening the tb right up si i doubt this is the prob,
F***!

 

_________________

Succesful trades with bentles_eb, Pane, chunkz, xr8_dismantler, OBS35N, mrnasty, Steady ED, voxace, Mash85, ovo616, ef biff, lukey, dazza2924, Seannyb, gunit18, jkk, Tocchi,

Last edited by Felony on Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

jees, i just checked my accelerator cable and it has a crack in the casing however i got my nan ( lol ) to sit in the car and give it full throttle and its opening the tb right up si i doubt this is the prob,
F***!

 

_________________

Succesful trades with bentles_eb, Pane, chunkz, xr8_dismantler, OBS35N, mrnasty, Steady ED, voxace, Mash85, ovo616, ef biff, lukey, dazza2924, Seannyb, gunit18, jkk, Tocchi,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sorry accidently posted twice
cheers

 

_________________

Succesful trades with bentles_eb, Pane, chunkz, xr8_dismantler, OBS35N, mrnasty, Steady ED, voxace, Mash85, ovo616, ef biff, lukey, dazza2924, Seannyb, gunit18, jkk, Tocchi,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

My old EA did the same thing a couple of times, first it was the fuel filter needing replacement, then the cat converter collapsed. Ran real well after that (got extractors and exhaust with new cat) then i blew the head gasket. Reco'd the head, put it all back together and it ran just like yours again

turned out the timing was out due to the harmonic balancer slipping. Remarked TDC and it was all sweet again. Just a couple of suggestions

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:59 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names