Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: wtf is head shaving?
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:26 am 
Fordmods Junkie

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

VIC, Australia

hey everyone. im a noob at all of this head shaving jazz. now so far i have read that by shaving the head ur increasing compression ratio...meaning higher revs? and what exactly do u do? do u literally shave the head evenly like ur planing a plank of wood? does this mean that something needs to be shorten because the head is a tad lower then usual? BTW does increasing compression ratio give a worse or a better fuel eco?

yes im a noob at this =D......oh yeah im guessing its not a good idea to do this on my own if i was to ever change my Head gasket when it blows.

cheers

phong =P~

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:31 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

WA, Australia

saving the head, is just that, shave some material off the bottom of the head.

it will increase compression, and should give you better fuel economy. wont let it rev any higher.

things wont need to be shortened, theres limit, think its about .. no idea? 40thou? off the head before your valves will hit your pistons?

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:48 am 
Fordmods Junkie

VIC, Australia

Gaz wrote:
saving the head, is just that, shave some material off the bottom of the head.

it will increase compression, and should give you better fuel economy. wont let it rev any higher.

things wont need to be shortened, theres limit, think its about .. no idea? 40thou? off the head before your valves will hit your pistons?