Fordmods Logo

XH XR6? fuelgauge/cruise/mirrors/locks/ 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Post subject: XH XR6? fuelgauge/cruise/mirrors/locks/
Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 5:57 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: XH XR6

SA, Australia

Hey guys. I'm new to all this forum stuff.
I just picked up a 96 XH XR6 duel fuel with 8 months rego for $500
Not without its problems though. I have tried searching, but haven't found any answers..

1: Electric mirrors don't work. Checked all fuses, pulled door skins off and made sure wiring is in tact and cleaned connections. still nothing?
*Any ideas on where else to look? or what to do?

2: Doors wont lock or unlock electrically. Didn't come with keyfob. But when using the key the locks cycle twice and then go straight back to the unlocked position. with no battery the locks work fine, but as soon as it has power it stuffs around.
*Simple actuator failure?? Replace them, buy key fob and program to BCM or?

3: Fuel gauge gives incorrect reading. I bought it with next to no petrol in it. fuel light was on and gauge read empty. Went and put 10 dollars in it. (about 8.5 L) and it reads nearly full?
*Is this a faulty sender unit or is it in the gauge itself? how can I test to make sure?

4:Cruise control will turn on and display Cruise light on dash, but will not activate and set speed.
Haven't looked into this at all.
*A few posts in other forums said to take buttons apart and clean them, how do I go about that? What else do people recommend?

5: Brake fluid leak from what looks like a pressure or fluid level switch/sensor on side of brake fluid reservoir.
*Cannot tell if its coming from the thread or out the white plastic looking stuff on the end. anyone else encountered this and knows of a fix? thread tape? replace switch?

6: Drivers door drops when opened. no signs of the usual body panel crack/tear.