Fordmods Logo

96' Gli stereo 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 96' Gli stereo
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 512

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

does any1 know if its possible to adapt to a house power plug
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:48 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

as in how?

do you mean run a transformer from the mains (240v) to a head unit?

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 512

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yer

or any way i can run the head unit out of the car
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

I tried this years ago when i was living in a caravan (had spare head deck but couldnt afford to buy indoor cd player.) I found that i couldnt find a transformer that would support the current draw. that was 7 yrs ago tho. so it may be possible. i would try Jaycar. tell em what you want to do and they should be able to help with a solution if there is one.
May i ask why you want to run it out of the car????

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

It has been possible to do this for years, even back in the late 70's people used to run cb radios and boosters in their houses so all you need is a power supply that produces 12vdc at around 6-7amps and preferably regulated...
Jaycar sell regulated switch-mode power supplies that would easily do the job...

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

whats the difference between a regulated power supply and a "normal" one?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:08 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

A regulated power suply will run a constant unchanging voltage. ie.12vdc. where as an unregulated one is prone to surges etc. ie can fluctuate depending on whats happening with the input voltage.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

A regulated power supply maintains the voltage steady at the rated voltage irrespective of load or supply voltage up to the rated current of the supply.
An unregulated power supply's output voltage will vary depending on the supply voltage and it will also drop in output as the load increases....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:41 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names