Fordmods Logo

AU II Headunit and wiring q's plus AU2 ute install pics 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: AU II Headunit and wiring q's plus AU2 ute install pics
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:23 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 137

Joined: 18th Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: bomaderry N.S.W
NSW, Australia

tdog wrote:
do you want to sell your ford 6 stacker?


might be interested into selling it mate? make an offer :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:27 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 137

Joined: 18th Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: bomaderry N.S.W
NSW, Australia

HELP!!!! ive taken my deck out and found theres no cradle or anything to mount my new double din headunit....has anyone got anmy ideas on how to mount an aftermarket double din unit in the dash???

- I cant use the standard clips beacuse they need the holes for the removal tools to fit through

- i cant take the fascia off and mount it coz then i cant bolt the fascia back on

- i cant bolt it in with all the fascia there becausei simply cant get to anything plus i cant see any where to make a mount to??

can someone please help me solve this?? Can u get double din cradles?? my new JVC deck as above didnt come with one.

cheers
matty
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

I'm surprised your deck didn't come with a cradle - I thought they all did.
In mine I did some custom work to attach the cradle to the rest of the dash, when that was secure, I slid the headunit in.
Without a cradle I reckon it's going to be a LOT harder.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:41 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 137

Joined: 18th Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: bomaderry N.S.W
NSW, Australia

success! below u will find my weekend of fun gettin my double din unit into my AU2 i had a ball fitting it and i am so happy how it turned out :)


first i bought a tape deck for $60 from the wreckers for the transgformation and beside it is the new CD player :)
Image


quickly the deck was gutted as i didnt need any of the guts and bits and pieces...
Image

Image

Image

next i started cuttin the inside of the facsia out so i could fit the face of the CD player in its inside...
Image

so nopw the facsia looked like this...t about 90% done..
Image

and sittin on the player :)
Image

Image

next i cut the sides off the oroginal deck and mounted them onto the new deck with a small rake to give the deck a good level for viewing... i also used the back of the original deck so i had the proper mount and shape for the locator mount in the back of it :)
Image

using the factory clips and all mounted togther the deck simply slid into position and using a harness i bought it all fired up first time nice and easy :)
Image
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names