Fordmods Logo

Ba aftermarket headunit 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:23 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 15

Joined: 17th Oct 2012

Ride: 03' XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi guys does anyone have a video or tutorial on how to install one,
Looked everywhere and it seems people have made videos for every car except Ba/Bf
Would be great if anyone can let me know :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:15 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 26th May 2011

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

kane2510 wrote:
Hi guys does anyone have a video or tutorial on how to install one,
Looked everywhere and it seems people have made videos for every car except Ba/Bf
Would be great if anyone can let me know :D


Hey i havnt come across a video before but there are loads of step by step guides out there.

if you start your self and explain what you want to do on here, im sure there a tons of people with the answers you need :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 15

Joined: 17th Oct 2012

Ride: 03' XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Oh really that sucks, and I wanted to put a single din flip out touchscreen if it's do able
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:12 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 98

Joined: 30th Nov 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 06 BF XR6

Location: Portland
VIC, Australia

kane2510 wrote:
Oh really that sucks, and I wanted to put a single din flip out touchscreen if it's do able

It is doable, I had one in my BF for awhile.
I'm trying to find the guides I used for you.

 

_________________

Current car 2011 FG XR6 Ute Limited Edition

Past cars:06 BF XR6
97 EL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:18 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 15

Joined: 17th Oct 2012

Ride: 03' XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

That'd be great mate and muchly appreciated :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 98

Joined: 30th Nov 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 06 BF XR6

Location: Portland
VIC, Australia

only pic I have of my install, don't think I had finished 100% tho.
Image

 

_________________

Current car 2011 FG XR6 Ute Limited Edition

Past cars:06 BF XR6
97 EL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:07 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 2

Joined: 3rd Feb 2014

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey mate, i've just put one in my bf and it was a piece of piss. acc and earth from the ciggie lighter, and constant power can be easily found in the fuse box (very obvious yellow wire).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02DyMZ23P9M
^ i used this to figure out how to remove the dash, and like i said the wiring is all easy. then again i ran new speaker cables to all speakers. depends how far you want to go with it really.

let me know if you have any questions mate, i like to think i'm very knowledgeable in the car audio department.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:55 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 15

Joined: 17th Oct 2012

Ride: 03' XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks mate that helps heaps, why'd you run extra speaker wire to all speakers? and isn't there a way we're you can still have the icc working as well
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 529

Joined: 22nd Aug 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

kane2510 wrote:
Thanks mate that helps heaps, why'd you run extra speaker wire to all speakers? and isn't there a way we're you can still have the icc working as well


You can probably have the ICC still running the show by taking aux out of the new head unit, and into the aux input on the factory set up.

So then all of your speaker power etc will still be controlled via ICC, which will play output from your new head unit upon selecting aux.

 

_________________

1989 EA Falcon column shift - SOLD
1990 EAII, BBM, EL ECU, T5, LSD - SOLD
1993 EBII Fairmont Ghia V8 - SOLD
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia 6C

Huge thanks to BenJ, TROYMAN, fiend and XR-Lane. The E-series knowledge/motivation pool.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba aftermarket headunit
Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

There was a doc on here somewhere that detailed how to add RCA outputs to your ICC.. then you can plug the ICC into an input on your single din and output the BA radio/CD to that..

The doc disappeared and I've been unable to find it. (If anyone has it at home, I'd love a copy, you won't be stealing business from anyone as I am not going to pull my ICC out and shipping it over east anyway)

I have a sillyscope and a multimeter and I plan to figure it out myself if i have to, as I have a few spare ICC's I can try it with and I have an Alpine IVA-D310 as well as the fibre optic DTS theatre amp and roof screens in a cupboard here ready to go in. I want to keep the in dash stacker function. but everything else moves to the IVA-D310 and the carpoota running Centrafuse. (which would be in the car now except that the power plug is 3 pin and the laptop won't charge without the third pin. (think I have to add a resistor to the other power pin and have a voltage drop on the 3rd pin, but thats another story))

Anyway, Areopro make a kit for an after market unit into a BA/BF.. where I worked we used to make one from black vinal covered MDF, but the kit would be easier.

Here is the cheapest one I've seen:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/FORD-BA-BF-FALCON-TERRITORY-CAR-DASH-STEREO-FASCIA-FASIA-DASH-RADIO-KIT-NEW-/181277517296?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2a34fb65f0

As for the wiring, read down a bit in this thread:
http://www.fordmods.com/ford-audio-visual-f5/ba-stereo-install-wiring-options-t95678.html
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:44 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names