Fordmods Logo

Ba amp and sub set-up using existing head unit. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ba amp and sub set-up using existing head unit.
Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 14th Jul 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: rockhampton
QLD, Australia

I'm sure this would of been asked before, but could someone explain to me the way to hook up a amplifier and sub in a ba falcon using the standard sound system. any help, or useful threads would be greatly apprecciated.

 

_________________

The first day i got my licence, was the first day i found out how much cops love to hand out speeding fines!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:33 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 330

Joined: 19th May 2006

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Theres a few threads around, just that damn tricky search function :lol:

In my BA, I installed an amp and sub, and new 5x7's all round. My amp had high level inputs in it already, so I could just plug the factory wires direct into it, splitting it first to give me a signal for the sub. If your amp doesnt have this, you will need line converters which change the normal signal from the factory wires into an rca signal, which you can plug into your amp.

So my fronts are unamped, the signal to the rear is split, then plugged into my amp (line converters if you need to) then from there to speakers/sub. Easy.

In the meantime I need to get off my a*se and amp the fronts instead of the rears.

As for the remote start wire, I just plugged mine into the cigarrete lighter (need to take out the tissue box holder to get access) and ran that to my amp. I ran the power wire through the clutch grommit (mines an auto, so It didnt matter anyway) and ran them under the door trims to the boot.

Hope that helps

 

_________________

For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's

For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000

175.6 rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:19 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 26

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Matey

I have just mounted the sub and am looking for a good place to bolt the amp.....

- where did you mount yours?

cheers,

 

_________________

I'd rather push my Ford than drive a holden

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

i have a aftermarket stereo in m mine and mounted the amp to the back of the drivers rear seat

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1013

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: MY06 REX

Location: Perthoslavakia
WA, Australia

I mounted mine in the area where the factory amp goes - on the left in the boot behind the carpet. cant see it unless you peel the carpet back (or follow the cable to the sub I guess)

 

_________________

The Evil Strawberry

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names