Fordmods Logo

BA Ghia stereo help 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Ghia stereo help
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

Any one know how to get a line level input into the factory BA Ghia stereo ? i want to plug in my iPod. I hate FM transmiters

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 130

Joined: 11th Dec 2005

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

go to a ford dealer and tell them you want an "Auxiliary Audio Input" it is fitted just next to your power source in the dash:P

 

_________________

my car caught a cold, now it sneezes!

Some freak FLASHED it too, now it's angry!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

I though that was BF only ? does it go on BA's ?

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 130

Joined: 11th Dec 2005

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

yeah, i work for a dealer, one of our fleet salesman has a BA mk1 XR6 and he got it done, thought about it for my turbo but i already got premium sound, that'll do me!

 

_________________

my car caught a cold, now it sneezes!

Some freak FLASHED it too, now it's angry!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

the aux input has been available since the BA's came out

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

Once again what would i do with out you guys.. Thanks Heaps, Just for a silly question though, how do you select it on the stereo as there is no AUX option on the front ?

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 55

Posts: 7

Joined: 8th Jan 2005

Ride: XR6

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

You should make sure you get part no. BAF 289455 BA Auxiliary Audio Booster Kit. It will be about $90 + fitting. I have the old $30 kit which was unboosted. I could still play the iPod, but the sound quality was like an AM radio. I'm getting my new boosted kit fitted this week. I took a photo but I can't get it to upload.

I bought a cheapo in car DVD and the sound issue was brought to a head for 2 reasons. First, the sound output of the DVD was very low and it needs boosting. Secondly, the 12v power source seems to be causing a buzzing noise with the car revs. So it looks like I will need a noise filter fitted as well to the 12v power source.

 

_________________

BA XR6 NA Auto, Pacemakers, 2.5 in exhaust, K&N, XR6T intake 15.4 @ 90mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:38 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 55

Posts: 7

Joined: 8th Jan 2005

Ride: XR6

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Sorry, to answer your question, select AM and then press it again until AUX comes up on your screen.

You can't control the iPod (eg change tracks etc) using your radio controls though. The booster kit instructions are to turn the external device's volume to max and then use the radio volume control for desired volume

 

_________________

BA XR6 NA Auto, Pacemakers, 2.5 in exhaust, K&N, XR6T intake 15.4 @ 90mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

Thanks blood_orange

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

W.T.F.... No stock on the booster kit, Ford do not have a date on supply of the part. aparantly on back order the best i got was 2 months. Sounds like Ford need to find a new supplier

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 1:03 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 55

Posts: 7

Joined: 8th Jan 2005

Ride: XR6

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Little sticker on the box says "Made in Taiwan"....

The local dealer here said I would have to wait on back order as Ford Oz had no stock of the boosted aux audio kit, but they then found one for me in Brisbane just in time for me to go away on hols. I ended up fitting it myself, took half an hour of stuffing about, lying upside down head under the fuse box.

 

_________________

BA XR6 NA Auto, Pacemakers, 2.5 in exhaust, K&N, XR6T intake 15.4 @ 90mph

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names