Fordmods Logo

BA SPEAKERS 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA SPEAKERS
Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:39 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 107

Joined: 29th Aug 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: AU fairmont ghia, XP falcon

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

I'M FITTING MY STEREO TO THE BA, BUT 1 PROBLEM, I'VE FITTED THE ADAPTERS TO CHANGE THE FACTORY SPEAKER FROM 5X7 TO 6.5" BUT I CANT FIGURE WHERE TO RUN THE WIRES TO GET IT FROM THE DOOR THROUGH THE PILLAR AND INTO THE BOOT FOR THE AMP.
ANY SUGESTIONS??
PICS OF ANYONE WHO'S DONE A/M SPEAKERS IN A BA WOULD BE FANTASTIC

 

_________________

"NEAR ENOUGH IS GOOD ENOUGH"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:51 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

I've had a look at this too and it put me off putting a stereo in my BA! I'd like to know what people have done too...

If you're desperate though and want a temporary fix until you find out how this problem is overcome, you could just use the factory speaker cable... Firstly, you will have to cut off the plastic adapter on the factory speaker wire that connects to the factory speakers and then put on spade connectors for your new speaker. Then, take note of what the wire colours are and just cut and strip the wires from the inside-side of the car. Then all that's left to do is solder up new speaker wire, wrap electric insulation tape around it and then run that to your amp... Does that make sense? lol It's really not as much trouble as it sounds and it's not the best solution.
I recommend doing it the right way!! Goodluck.

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 624

Joined: 7th Jul 2008

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

all thats been done on mine. is connect factory wires up to better speakers. unbolt factory sub lift it out and with alot of alingment problems along the way bolt a new 1 up into the parcel shelf

its still not the best but theres no crackles now
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 107

Joined: 29th Aug 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: AU fairmont ghia, XP falcon

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeah its a bloody pain in the a***, i now have 6.5" splits in the front of the BA now, running of the factory stereo, but i will put in my new stereo, and the rest of the crap later, probably need a week off work just to do it. its a mission but it will sound sweet when done.

 

_________________

"NEAR ENOUGH IS GOOD ENOUGH"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Is it rubber boots over the looms in the doorshuts?

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1298

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Ride: BA 3v ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

What the guys at jb hi fi did with mine was cut the factory wires before and after the plug in the door and solder bigger cables on it :|

 

_________________

www.bseries.com.au/punktured

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

i've been thinking about this and if ur not using the factory speaker wire you could cut it from the inside of the car solder the new cable to the factory speaker wire and pull that through the rubber boot thing into the door! That is, pull the factory wire that's inside the door until the new speaker wire follows through... you follow? just cross your fingers that no other wires come with it!

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:16 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

Btw i'm assuming this for the front doors?

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1298

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Ride: BA 3v ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Pretty sure the BA's have a plug there which is why mine were soldered before and after. I had a look at trying to replace the cable through the door but it would have been a pain in the a**

 

_________________

www.bseries.com.au/punktured

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:44 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names