Fordmods Logo

Bought new sub, need help with rears. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Bought new sub, need help with rears.
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 122

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys this is all a bit confusing for me. So i can only imagine what its going to be like for you to understand what im saying haha.

Ok so i bought myself an Alpine SWS-1222D Type-S 12" sub and an Alpine V-Power Monoblock MRP-M350 Amplifier. My car, an ED, already had the premium sound system in it (sub, amp etc).

I connected everything up today and it is f**k awesome...BUT My rear speakers arent working, and there are just too many cables to check to find out what is what. Im assuming the reason is that the rears were running from the original amp and upon disconnecting it they no longer have power anymore? :(


How can i run both the amps so that the mono stays the way it is and runs the type-s and the original factory amp is still running the rears? (The front splits run of the headunit i think? my headunit is a pioneer, few years old, cant remember the model, plays mp3's and all that rubbish though), the original factory sub has been removed and is no longer in use.


Im in the process of doing a full sound upgrade but it will be while before i can get the cash together to finish the rest of it so i want the rears working at their prime again.

So the question is how do i get my sound system to run the way it did yesterday with the addition of the Alpine sub and Amp.

thanks guys.

 

_________________

And I Kept Thinking... "How Can I Tell Her She Is F**king Hot Without Ruining The Conversation With My Pervertedness?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well until u get the money for the new gear any chance of a new HU - headunit upgrade anytime soon ? this way with multiple RCA out u can easily connect your mono block to the sub rca outs on the headunit and the FMS amp in your premium system hoping yours has the RCA ins coan also be hooked up to the rear rcas on the headunit...

How have u got the mono block connected to the stock premium headunit at the moment ?

and im sure too i dont see why the rear fill cant just be run from the existing headunit too....id have to track down the wiring codes tho i dont remeber off the top of me head :)

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 122

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks for the help Kev, but solved the prob after work, went down and bought 2 split cables, now everything is running fine. I dont have the stock premium head unit, ive got a pioneer one.

Now ive just got to solve the problem of my battery being completely drained every time i put a CD on haha. What does everyone else do to solve this problem?

 

_________________

And I Kept Thinking... "How Can I Tell Her She Is F**king Hot Without Ruining The Conversation With My Pervertedness?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

um another is so now ya orginla ahs free channal i don't know how good it is for an amp running under no load.
i cooked a hifi amp like that running one channal for my sub teh otehr doing nothing
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 122

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Both amps are running with loads. The mono is running the sub and the factory one is back running the splits again the same as it was in the begining. The only difference now is that the factory amp is not running the factory sub as it has been removed

 

_________________

And I Kept Thinking... "How Can I Tell Her She Is F**king Hot Without Ruining The Conversation With My Pervertedness?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

ok so what is teh factory amp running instead of the sub i think it migtht be set up like this

$ channal amp 2 channal speakers and teh other 2 channal were bridged for teh sub now the sub is off teh other amp so there are 2 channals dong nothing on one amp.

if this is te case bridge amp to 2 channals and turn gain down and hey u will ahve more power if needed
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names