Fordmods Logo

Changing factory cd changer 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Changing factory cd changer
Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 137

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairlane Ghia

Location: Lithgow
NSW, Australia

Hi All,

I'm looking at upgrading the factory Alpine cd-changer out of my EL fairmont Ghia and buying the CHA-S634 so I can play MP3's

I have been told the connections are different.

Can anyone give me ideas on how I can adapt the connections? as I like the premium sound system in the car.

Thanks

John
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

It is quite easy to do, firstly is the stacker that you have now an Alpine branded stacker or a Ford branded stacker? If it is the Alpine stacker then you can easily get an adaptor to go from an "M-bus" to Ai-net stacker. If it is a Ford stacker then you will need a Ford - "M-bus" adaptor and then the above adaptor as well, then you need to switch the stacker over to "M-bus" control and this switch is inside the cartridge door.
Then you will be able to play mp3 discs from the factory head unit but be aware when you create an mp3 disc to use with this system make sure that all the mp3's are in the root directory of the disc and not in folders as you won't be able to select folders.
I hope that this helps you some...

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:33 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 137

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairlane Ghia

Location: Lithgow
NSW, Australia

Hi,

I currently have the standard ford branded stacker. It has a white rectangular shaped plug with 8 pins.

Where can I get the adapters from? And how much are they?

Do you have pictures of the cables?

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No I don't have any pics but any GOOD car stereo store will be able to supply the 2 adaptors required. The ones that I use actually replace the factory cable and plugs into the head unit.
Let me know how you go....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 30

Joined: 24th Mar 2010

Ride: EF fairmont ghia

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

outlawxr6 wrote:
It is quite easy to do, firstly is the stacker that you have now an Alpine branded stacker or a Ford branded stacker? If it is the Alpine stacker then you can easily get an adaptor to go from an "M-bus" to Ai-net stacker. If it is a Ford stacker then you will need a Ford - "M-bus" adaptor and then the above adaptor as well, then you need to switch the stacker over to "M-bus" control and this switch is inside the cartridge door.
Then you will be able to play mp3 discs from the factory head unit but be aware when you create an mp3 disc to use with this system make sure that all the mp3's are in the root directory of the disc and not in folders as you won't be able to select folders.
I hope that this helps you some...


Where do u get an 'M bus' to 'Ai net' adaptor from?
Also Ai net, it that what most modern stacker use or just a specific model/brand

cheers

efmonty88
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names